Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2016, 12:39 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Kenny kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,658
PI gen plug

Are people needing to use the PI gen plug for the ground neutral bonding issue??

I looked at the plug, $18 bucks.
Not bad.. could probably make it just as easy.

Put it in the cart... $75 SHIPPING TO CANADA!!?? Holy crap!

Um.. nope

2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS
__________________

__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 4
Kenny kustom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2016, 12:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
karrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Chicago Western Burbs
Posts: 430
Is this something you can make yourself? I'd be interested in doing that.
__________________

__________________
2016 Roo 21SS
2005 Ford Excursion-Sherman
Mods so far:
PI hardwired EMC, Wire Shelving in wardrobe
Plexiglass screen door protector, Blue LED Wine nook
stairs, and counting...
karrun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2016, 01:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Kenny kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,658
You sure can.
Just take a plug and put a wire between the neutral and ground.

CAUTION. DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK..


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS
__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 4
Kenny kustom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2016, 01:33 PM   #4
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 13,064
Mike has the instructions on his No Shock Zone website on how to make these:


Generator Ground-Neutral Bonding | No~Shock~Zone

and he also has a youtube video demonstrating them in action

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Materialism: buying things we donít need with money we donít have to impress people that donít matter.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2016, 05:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Kenny kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,658
I got an error 9 on my Pi when I plugged it into the Yammy.

Data link error... hmm


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS
__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 4
Kenny kustom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2016, 12:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny kustom View Post
You sure can.
Just take a plug and put a wire between the neutral and ground.

CAUTION. DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK..


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS


^^^This. All that is being done is connecting the Neutral with the Ground.

Buy a plug, connect the neutral and ground, plug it in to the gen.

I can explain what/why/where/how/etc. if more info is needed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
325BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2016, 04:21 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Learjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 191
Made myself one and fixed issue with PI EMS for RV.

FYI...Same bonding happens when plugging generator into house through interlock device, neutral and ground get bonded at the main panel.
__________________
-2013 Ford F250 XLT 2wd Crew Cab 6.2 with 3.73
-2015 Wildcat 317RL
-B&W Patriot 18k, MorRyde, Timbrens
Learjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2016, 08:52 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Learjet View Post
Made myself one and fixed issue with PI EMS for RV.

FYI...Same bonding happens when plugging generator into house through interlock device, neutral and ground get bonded at the main panel.


Yup. In your house, the neutral and ground are bonded at the main.

Since bonding of neutral and ground are to occur in one location only, this is the reason some generators are not bonded. You don't want the generator bonded when plugged in to your house.

At the campground, bonding occurs somewhere upstream, possibly at the pedestal. Because of this, there is no bonding in the camper's main panel... and is why the generator should be bonded when powering the camper.

In the case of powering the camper, not only should the generator be bonded it should also be grounded with a ground rod... but I never see that.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
325BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.