Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2013, 05:56 PM   #1
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
Rolling buckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,330
PI surge protector wont turn on power

Installed PI surge protector with remote display,when plugged in to house,getting 123 60H E-0. When I plug in to new Boily gen set it reads e-2 "open ground" and will not turn on power. Using proper cord,with 30 amp 3 prong end. Tried with adapter plugged in to reg outlet on gen set,tripped power on gen set. In the instruction book from PI,it states "do not plug in to inverter" the Boily is an inverter gen. Is this the problem? Others must be using inverter type gen sets,

Thought to call customer serv. at PI,but sat 5:50,too late,so thought I would pick Y'all's brains first! Help !
__________________

__________________
Rolling buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 05:59 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Ground your gennie with a rod stuck in the ground and wired to your gennie.

Most gennies have a wing nut and a post to attach the wite to.
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 06:01 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Basically your gennie has no earth ground unless you do this.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130427_170131.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	38.4 KB
ID:	29091
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 06:02 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
Rolling buckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Ground your gennie with a rod stuck in the ground and wired to your gennie.

Most gennies have a wing nut and a post to attach the wite to.
Thanks Turbs ! I'll go try! U Da Man !
__________________
Rolling buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 06:03 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Drive your rod into the ground a foot or so then attach a wire with a hose clamp to it.
Then hook loose end to gennie ground lug as pictured above.


Turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 06:03 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
All I got to say is BBC!
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 06:37 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
I don't think grounding your generator to a ground rod will make a difference. In a normal house supply the ground and neutral are tied together in the electrical panel but not in the generator (not mine which is a Yamaha) So either you bypass your PI surge protector on your remote display or you need to do an adapter. See attached.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Special Generator Pigtail Instructions.pdf (132.6 KB, 63 views)
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 06:41 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonzie View Post
I don't think grounding your generator to a ground rod will make a difference. In a normal house supply the ground and neutral are tied together in the electrical panel but not in the generator (not mine which is a Yamaha) So either you bypass your PI surge protector on your remote display or you need to do an adapter. See attached.
Your house power is also grounded to earth.


My EMS showed same fault till I earth grounded my gennie.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 06:43 PM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
Rolling buckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Drive your rod into the ground a foot or so then attach a wire with a hose clamp to it.
Then hook loose end to gennie ground lug as pictured above.

Turbs
Roger . These are my connections. Still E2-PE2

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1319300341.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	47.4 KB
ID:	29097

Opened panel on front of Boily, n checked,ground bolt I att. to is wired to grnd o rec's and to gen frame. ???
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-528266721.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	53.0 KB
ID:	29096  
__________________
Rolling buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 07:03 PM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
Rolling buckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,330
Ok bypass worked, but darn ! Would have been nice to monitor gen power too!

Next Problem.....

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2029765714.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	47.4 KB
ID:	29103

Aaaaaaaa. BBC .... Box ...... EMPTY !! The HORROR ! What do I do now !

Beerun !
__________________

__________________
Rolling buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 PM.