Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2015, 08:37 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 73
Progressive Industries EMS-HW50C

Just got my Georgetown 337 back from dealer. The next day my ems arrived. My question is where should I put the display unit? I've already planned to put a plug in the power bay so I will no longer have to drag 30 ft of 50amp cord in and out of the access hole.
__________________

__________________
2011 Georgetown 337 2011 Chevy Impala
pakkdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 08:42 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Ultimately put it where it works best for you.
Mine is right inside the main door so I can pop open the door and look at it.
I also don't have a mh so so this may vary from where you can install it.
I don't follow what your doing with your power cord tho.
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 08:53 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 73
Thanks Turns, I'm changing from a hard wire cord to one with 2 ends. My thought is it will be a lot easier to pull the whole thing out and feed 2 feet up into the compartment. Than pull 30 ft in and out a 4in hole.
__________________
2011 Georgetown 337 2011 Chevy Impala
pakkdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 09:01 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
geotex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by pakkdad View Post
Thanks Turns, I'm changing from a hard wire cord to one with 2 ends. My thought is it will be a lot easier to pull the whole thing out and feed 2 feet up into the compartment. Than pull 30 ft in and out a 4in hole.
Sure is! I've done this a lot over the years for friends and friend of theirs! If you have room for it, I have installed many times a quality industrial hose reel and wound the cord on that. Last year, I even went a step further with a couple in their mid-80s (who have been full-timing for 33 years!!!) and fitting their reel with a reversible electric motor to help them bring that beast in. Why the RV industry does not use higher number, finer stranded wire for their power umbilical to increase flexibility...

I vote a dual display with a MH! One at the bay where everything is, and one inside to monitor the state of things.
__________________
geotex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 05:15 AM   #5
CCRVOC
 
Ramblin Recks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Where ever we are parked
Posts: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by geotex1 View Post
I vote a dual display with a MH! One at the bay where everything is, and one inside to monitor the state of things.
X2- I have mine mounted just inside the door, which I like to monitor throughout the day, but it would be nice to have one in the bay to be seen when I first connect power.
__________________
2012 Dodge 3500, SLT Big Horn,CC,DRW,Cummins HO, EB, 4x4, 3:73, Retrax Pro, Q20, TST507, Garmin RV760, Sleek 4g
2014 Cedar Creek, 36CKTS, 640w Solar, TriStar MPPT 60, Magnum 2000w, PI EMS, WiFi Ranger Elite, Sleek 4g, Wingard DTV Traveler
Retired Army in 1995, and now retired in 2016
Ramblin Recks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 10:53 AM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramblin Recks View Post
X2- I have mine mounted just inside the door, which I like to monitor throughout the day, but it would be nice to have one in the bay to be seen when I first connect power.
Well it has a delay , if you run fast enough. ..........
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 11:00 AM   #7
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 6,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
Well it has a delay , if you run fast enough. ..........
... about 16-17 seconds for mine.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49 / '14 = 74 / '15 = 74 / '16 = 85 / '17 = 110 / '18 = 0; booked = 28
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 11:06 AM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Dan View Post
... about 16-17 seconds for mine.
Hardwired has two delays, I cannot remember them but may 15 seconds and 136 ?
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 02:59 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 73
Thanks, yes 15 and 136. To do with AC units they say. Any easy ways to run the data cable?
__________________

__________________
2011 Georgetown 337 2011 Chevy Impala
pakkdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.