Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2013, 07:39 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 21
Replace Dometic with Honeywell Thermostat

After putting up with 5 degree temperature swings I decided to figure out why I was constantly going from hot to cold and back again. As the temps outside I wanted them more constant inside. It all came down to the thermostat. The Dometic analog (with temp slide) was definitely the problem. Spending was a consideration - I wanted a good thermostat but with features.

I finally settled on the Honeywell 5.2 Programmable. Perfect for what I wanted.

I researched a few forums and also the manufacturers recommendations. My system is a Suburban LP furnace and Dometic roof mounted AC. I used the color coding of Red (cap it off), Yellow to Y (cool), Brown/Blue both to G (fan - high speed), White to W (furnace), Green to RC/RH.

In my case I also an Orange Lead (I capped it off - it is to the warmer in the AC unit - an added feature).

It took 30 minutes. Time well spent. The unit runs a little more but the temp swing is gone. I have a 1 (at most 2) temp change before the unit comes one.

Best of all - it is programmable. I now wake up to a warm (or cool) unit. No more fiddling with the old slide and end up hot and cold.

The big NOTE that anyone who wants to make the same change - the thermostat must be able to work with 12V systems.
__________________

__________________
RobKat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 11:12 PM   #2
10x
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dunedin, FL.
Posts: 567
What model did you get?
Where did you buy it?
__________________

__________________
2014 XLR 27 HFS
2010 F250 4x4 Crewcab Turbo Diesel
10x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 06:20 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 21
I purchased Honeywell Model #: RTH6350D1000 at Lowes

Honeywell 5-2 Day Programmable Thermostat.

If you are really into tech you can buy the one with WiFi.
__________________
RobKat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 12:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 101
Added note to some who may have issues with temp, but not necessarily the thermostat.

Our limit switch, relatively new I might add, failed and was replaced shortly thereafter. The new switch had great variance in temp which randomly made the cabin hot and cold. A subsequent new switch solved the problem.

My guess, limit switches are not quality controlled as tightly as one might think. A second switch which was tested by me now resides in our spares locker, and because I have a second switch I'll never have this problem again.

Just a thought.

Mike
__________________
traveler2955 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 11:38 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 21
Update - We've been enjoying the comfort of a warm MH. No problems have been encountered. It is nice to wake up to a warm coach. I also do not have to remember to turn it down at night. I do wish I had bought the broadband ready. That way I don't even have to be home to change the temperature. Totally spoiled.
__________________
RobKat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic, thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.