Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-18-2018, 12:48 PM   #1

Slide Topper Advisable?

Good morning fellow happy campers! I am a newbie owner of a FR FS Micro Lite 21DS. My unit did not come equipped with a slide topper from factory. I considered adding one but they are pricey and my salesman said the noise created from wind blowing through this accessory is a drawback for some. Would appreciate feedback from you experienced folks about pros/cons or alternatives to having a slide topper installed now. I've only had the trailer a week so no dirt, junk in there yet.
JGage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 12:56 PM   #2

Your sales person is right. ive had 5 campers and my currant has 5 slides and ive never had a topper. Some will say you cant live without and some say a waste of money. Gotta weigh the pros and cons for your style of camping and decide.
Kimber45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 01:01 PM   #3
Always Learning

We rarely have wind noise with ours. The times we did, the wind itself was noisy any way. We've been up to 40-50 mph winds. Never had a tear.

For me, I won't be without them.

But like Kimber said, some people will, some won't.

Slide Toppers (aka Awnings) – definitely! | Learn To RV
Old 04-18-2018, 01:31 PM   #4
Site Team

In 10 years of ownership, we NEVER had any issues with our slidetopper.
It saved us from a lot of issues that we had before getting one installed.

It cost more because it wasn't installed at the factory.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 01:37 PM   #5
Pickin', Campin', Mason

Welcome to the forum JGage. 3 posts.