Old 12-24-2013, 08:35 AM   #1
Tongue jack question

Hey guys. Im a newbie to campers. We have purchased a 2014 rockwood roo 21ss and have been going through the process of learning all about it. Been setting it up in the drive and backyard. This is going to beat the heck out of tents and tarps!

We have a manual tongue jack. I'm really beginning to see the merit in a powered tongue jack but I'm hesitant to spend the money right now. Mainly because we haven't been camping yet and am not sure how our priorities will work themselves out. You know, like a second battery, generator, etc. I'm currently using a heavy duty battery powered drill to lower the stabilizers and was wondering if anyone has done a mod to do the same with the tongue jack. Keep in mind that our trailer has a tongue wt. of between 500 and 600 lbs. I know that the handle will have to be cut and a nut or male adapter welded in place so the drill can be attached as well having something available for a "manual" override. I've been reading through this forum for a month or so now and I know some of you have already thought of this. Very inventive group of people! What do ya think?

perryc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 08:51 AM   #2
You could use a drill as long as it's a good strong one but I would save up and go with an electric tongue jack. Very easy to install and very worth it.

Welcome to the forum.

Glen & Lee
Dawsonville, GA
2013 V-Cross Platinum 325VRL
2014 Ford F250 PSD
GlenZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 08:54 AM   #3