Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-16-2018, 09:48 PM   #1

UPS batteries for house battery in camper.

So when we bought our camper last fall I got them to throw in a new battery, interstate “rv” group 24 as the one in it was the original. I’ve accidentally discharged it a couple of times, and while it seems fine (held charge unhooked all winter) I really want to put an AGM battery in just because of the maintenance free aspect. I know I won’t be boondocking much, if at all, so I really don’t need the extra amp hrs. But... I really want to upgrade just because. [emoji2]

https://replacementbatterystore.com/...e-oem-battery/

So the reason I’m considering a ups battery or two is I’m pretty familiar with them job wise (IT) and more importantly I’ve been running them in my Jeep Wrangler for probably 7 yrs and my boat for 4yrs. My reason for running them is the deep discharge that they can handle. I.e. winch drains on the Jeep (enough drain I have used snow to cool the winch motor), and stereo drains (all day) on the boat. They replaced optima yellow tops in both vehicles. They are not a starting battery even though I used them that way. They are AGM and at a pretty good price point.

Thoughts? What am I missing?
Old 04-16-2018, 10:11 PM   #2

Trigger Warning: Snowflakes who only camp at campgrounds with power may be triggered by my comments.

Its your rig and your money but if you don't boondock, then checking water level on a battery once every 4 months is not that difficult and I doubt you will need to add water more then once a year since you camp with hookups.

Save your money and use it to personalize your camper another way.

When you put your big boy pants on and realize that boondocking offers the best camping experience then we can talk batteries. However, I'd probably steer you towards AGM golfcart batteries!

Have fun and take care!