Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2009, 08:50 AM   #11
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,716
As I've said in other posts---- mine hits the refer top vent
when lowered so I can't leave it installed.
On those occasions when we are in a fringe area, I "attach" mine
with 2 heavy duty rubber bands.
Yeah, it's a PITA but most of the time we don't need it and I can
give the roof caulk a quick inspection when I'm up there.
__________________

__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2004 5.3L Silverado 1500 ext. cab 2WD
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch, AirLift load levelers

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41,
2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 09:30 AM   #12
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
I just washed my roof the other night and noticed that the arms on the Wingman retain quite a bit of dirt in the slots. So don't forget to take a small bristle brush up there to clean it off.
The picture on the TV has really improved since the transfer to digital. I've been watching preseason football games and have yet to have a freeze up etc. I couldn't say that prior to June 12th even with the Wingman.

__________________

__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 05:30 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lenoir City, Tn
Posts: 54
I installed a wingman yesterday for this weekend's trip. We camped her 6 weeks ago and the TV reception is much better than last time. I went from 2 decently clear stations to 6 clear and a few that I can turn the antenna and get. I happy with my purchase and the wife is much happier.
__________________
jamesp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 10:46 AM   #14
The Jolly Mon
 
NDJollyMon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ND...HELP!
Posts: 1,685
Send a message via Yahoo to NDJollyMon
You know what is weird?
I have the WINGMAN antenna hooked up.
I have a 26" Digital LCD tv in the living area hooked up directly to it.
I have a 19" LCD (analog) in the bedroom, and hook the antenna line to a digital converter box.

Sometimes, I'll get digital freeze ups on the living room tv, but never on the bedroom tv...and they are hooked to the same antenna!

Me thinks the reception problems may be coming from the tv itself, and not so much the antenna. The tv reception is much better on the converter box. It will even pull in a FOX station that my living room tv won't.

I wonder if I should try hooking up a converter to the digital LCD tv? Would that even work?
__________________
Pete (Jolly Mon)

2018 Wildwood Grand Lodge 42 DLTS
-Seasonal Space, Northern MN.
-2017 Sylvan 8522 LZ LES/115 Merc/Sea Legs
NDJollyMon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 11:01 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
bamasurveyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 286
We went camping with a group of friends this past weekend. We both have digital tuner TVs and have the Wing man. Both of us had removed the converter boxes as we had replaced older televisions. Where we were camping No one was picking up any signals and we were less than 100 miles from several stations. Someone tried connecting a converter box to a digital tuner TV and and they got 15 channels. I guess I'll have to put my box BACK in the camper and use it along with the TV that was supposed to REPLACE THE BOX.
__________________
John
Ted
bamasurveyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 01:39 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Posts: 1,263
Those boxes work very weell. Mine was made by APEX, I bought it at Best Buy, and I put it on our bedroom TV, analog, but only 2 or 3 yrs. old, and hooked it into the wingman setup on the roof. It picks up about 25 channels, (although most are edu. channels, or spanish, or religious) but the signals are clear as a bell! Randy
__________________
/SIGPIC]'08 V-lite Flagstaff 30WRLS
'06 Ram 1500 QC hemi Reese dual cam sway control,
K&N series 77 intake, Hellwig helper spgs. LT tires,
Flowmaster "true duals", 380 h.p., Bilstein shocks
08flagvlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 04:30 PM   #17
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,716
Some tuners are just better (more sensitive) than others.
If you've got a converter and are having trouble getting
a good picture on your new digital TV, give the box a try.

I have a Panasonic DVD/VHS digital recorder next to my new
Sharp Aquos TV at home. If my cable signal is weak and the TV is
dropping out on digital stations, I can fire up the panasonic
and switch the TV to it. The panasonic which cost just over $100
as a "refurbished" unit on Ebay will pull in the signal when my
$1500 Aquos can't do it.

Whatever works!!
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2004 5.3L Silverado 1500 ext. cab 2WD
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch, AirLift load levelers

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41,
2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 10:26 AM   #18
The Jolly Mon
 
NDJollyMon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ND...HELP!
Posts: 1,685
Send a message via Yahoo to NDJollyMon
good information! I'm going to try hooking my box to my (already capable) LCD tv and try it. I thought about this when I was camping last weekend when the bedroom tv had a good signal and my living room tv didn't.

I guess all tuners aren't created equal! :-)
__________________
Pete (Jolly Mon)

2018 Wildwood Grand Lodge 42 DLTS
-Seasonal Space, Northern MN.
-2017 Sylvan 8522 LZ LES/115 Merc/Sea Legs
NDJollyMon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 10:07 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,260
A camping freind of mine has been working on a new type of antenna all summer long, by trade he works on computers and electronics. He has had three different types that he has developed on his camper and he has let other use them on there campers for testing in different parts of the campground. So far he has been able to pick up more digial channels then anyone else. I believe he is going to take this farther and may try to get a patent.
__________________
rockwood06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 07:31 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Hipshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waco, Texas
Posts: 222
I picked up a new 2010 Rockwood 2604SS last Tuesday at RVDirect in Elkhart. During the PDI the 26 inch tv worked fine, it also worked very good at Elkhart RV park that night. When I stopped outside Memphis that night I could not get a station don't know how far I was from the stations. When I got home still no tv stations, I am less than 30 miles from all of the local stations. On advice from members on this forum I hooked up the converter box I got for $9 with the $40 card from the guvernment and I now get 25 stations. I get stations that are 80 miles away. If you have a converter box by all means try it.

Thanks to all for the information.
__________________

__________________
Hipshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.