Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2016, 07:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 32
King Quest Directv problem

Anyone have any experience with this "dish"? It is new so I think it's operator error. It would not work at all running it through the campers outside cable connection. By running it through a window I was able to get some channels to work. However it is no picking up all channels. When I look at signal strength it shows 0 on the even transponders. I'm using a H24-100 receiver.
__________________

Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 07:53 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 49
Some of the channels only broadcast in HD. You will not receive HD channels with that dish. If you hook to the outside sat connection you have to turn the switch off to your antenna amplifier usually located on the plate where the inside coax connectors are. I only had to turn it off one time and then when I turned it back on I could switch from antenna to sat with the tv input.
__________________

__________________
2015 Flagstaff 831RBLSS
2015 Ram 2500 6.7 Cummings Crew
2014 Lowe Stinger 175
2013 FJR1300
Hthunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 08:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 32
I understand I won't receive the HD channels but I should receive the SD equivalent right? Example is instead of A&EHD I should receive A&E (standard definition). Am I correct or will I not get those channels at all?
Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 08:15 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 49
You should receive all the channels in standard definition if they are in your subscription. Did you get your receiver set up correctly? Did it scan all the channels when you set it up? Are you using a hdmi cable to your tv or coax?
__________________
2015 Flagstaff 831RBLSS
2015 Ram 2500 6.7 Cummings Crew
2014 Lowe Stinger 175
2013 FJR1300
Hthunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 08:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 32
Receiver did a scan when first started up. Is that what you mean? Receiver is hooked to tv with HDMI cable. When I turn to the channels it does not receive it has a error code and says it lost communication with the satellite ( or something like that). It seems to be only having problems with channels that also have a HD version. As an example it's getting the Nickelodeon channels that are only standard definition.
Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 10:07 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Play Harder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 506
King quest sat is not capable of HD only SD - you probably have the wrong satellites selected on your receiver should only be 101 SD no SWM or other HD sats you can still used HD cable output but it will only be 480 resolution on your TV

Connecting sat through cable in RV has to be a dedicated direct cable with nothing else on it (power passing)

Not the cable TV and antenna cable - this will not pass power to sat dish


Get out and Play Harder😛

2016 XLR Hyper Lite 29hsf - loaded picked up 3-24-2015😊
2002 Chevy 1/2 ton Quadrasteer
2008 Can Am Spyder
Kite Boarding is my Addiction - GOT WIND!
Play Harder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 10:19 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 32
It is 101 sat. Satellite type setting is round 18 and multi switch. Says sat signal lost on some of the SD channels. I know it will not pick up HD channels at all.

I have figured out part of the problem with running it through the camper wiring is it can not send power back through the camper wiring. Would it work if the power injector was outside the camper?
Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 11:17 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Play Harder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 506
It must be a dedicated cable - no splitters no antenna power supply---


The satellite dish power injector should not matter if it's at the satellite or at TV side -

Another question got to ask you have line of sight for sat 101 - no trees or buildings in the line of sight for 101 sat

Sat dish should be on ground or somewhere where there is no obstructions like trees - hook cable with good RG6 cable with compression ends - (no sloppy crimped ends, no RG59, any short will not allow power to pass thru,) to sat dish - hook other end of cable to power injector - make sure your on the right input on injector - hook another RG6 cable to receiver out on power injector and other end to sat receiver -- ( run cable thru door or window for this test do not use RV supplied cable) run setup again enter zip code this will give u compass location which is handy to see if you have line of sight carry a compass with you. -- run setup with round 101 and switch 2 multi switch - make sure power is supplied to power injector - press reset button on power injector - hopefully this works lol

When this works if you only have one coax cable going into RV and want to use that cable I'll explain that in next chapter 😎

Let's get it working first


Get out and Play Harder😛

2016 XLR Hyper Lite 29hsf - loaded picked up 3-24-2015😊
2002 Chevy 1/2 ton Quadrasteer
2008 Can Am Spyder
Kite Boarding is my Addiction - GOT WIND!
Play Harder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 11:29 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 32
Very much agree lets get it working first but it sure is cold in February with the window cracked. Will be Friday night before I can try it as it is parked a hour and a half away. I don't think line of sight is the problem. We are set up in a large parking lot. Campers are sandwiched in together like parked cars so I put the dish on top of the camper to keep other campers from blocking line of sight. It's not permanently installed just sitting on top
Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 11:32 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 32
Cable is feed that was supplied with dish. Ran from it to injector and injector has a small cable already attached to it that I attacked straight to receiver
Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 12:49 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Play Harder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 506
Also check the fittings - the connectors on the end of the cable these are very important on satellite and overlooked a lot should have no fray shielding hanging out anywhere - the center copper conductor should be barely longer than the fitting.

I would go buy some new RG6 cable at Home Depot or bestbuy ect - do not fall for the up sell of Gold plated - this is pure scam profit just good RG6 coax w good compression ends - I don't know how many times I have seen bad coax shipped w receivers


Get out and Play Harder😛

2016 XLR Hyper Lite 29hsf - loaded picked up 3-24-2015😊
2002 Chevy 1/2 ton Quadrasteer
2008 Can Am Spyder
Kite Boarding is my Addiction - GOT WIND!
Play Harder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 12:59 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Play Harder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 506
I think you need a b band converter with the set top box your using this is most likely your problem after thinking a little- had to use my brain 😜


Get out and Play Harder😛

2016 XLR Hyper Lite 29hsf - loaded picked up 3-24-2015😊
2002 Chevy 1/2 ton Quadrasteer
2008 Can Am Spyder
Kite Boarding is my Addiction - GOT WIND!
Play Harder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 08:30 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 32
I have seen some old tech support that said the H24 needs a b band converter but I thought that was to make it receive HD channels in in non SWM setup. However I do have one from before my home dish was changed out. I had already put it in the "toolbox" to go back to the camper. I have one and it's easy to hook up so I figured it was worth a try. I will let you know if it worked when I get to camper Friday evening.
Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 01:03 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
redcloud1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 314
I'm reading these posts with a lot of interest because I just purchased this same satellite dish myself. I haven't had it hooked up to my RV yet but I did set it up in my driveway and hooked it up to my Home DVR and it worked fine. I wondered if I would have a problem with it sending power to the dish through the trailers hookup but I guess I'll have to wait till I can hook it up to see what happens. Also even though it won't receive HD channels I was still able to have the resolution on my TV at 1080i
redcloud1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 01:33 PM   #15
Professional Texan
 
TexasBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 347
I have a King Quest Directv dish and have had no problems. You have to have a clean cable coming in (one that goes through nothing,) I get all the channels I get at home. I would recommend that you call king customer support. I found them very helpful.

952-922-6889.
__________________
Texas Bob
2015 Chevrolet Silverado HD2500 Z71
2013 Prime Time Tracer Executive 2640 RLS

TexasBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 07:04 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 32
TexasBob do you have any idea if customer support is available on Saturday?
Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 07:43 PM   #17
Professional Texan
 
TexasBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond View Post
TexasBob do you have any idea if customer support is available on Saturday?
Yes they are. Here is the website.

Customer Service | KING
__________________
Texas Bob
2015 Chevrolet Silverado HD2500 Z71
2013 Prime Time Tracer Executive 2640 RLS

TexasBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 10:07 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 2,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Play Harder View Post
I think you need a b band converter with the set top box your using this is most likely your problem after thinking a little- had to use my brain 😜


Get out and Play Harder😛

2016 XLR Hyper Lite 29hsf - loaded picked up 3-24-2015😊
2002 Chevy 1/2 ton Quadrasteer
2008 Can Am Spyder
Kite Boarding is my Addiction - GOT WIND!

While reading through these post I was thinking the same thing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond View Post
I have seen some old tech support that said the H24 needs a b band converter but I thought that was to make it receive HD channels in in non SWM setup. However I do have one from before my home dish was changed out. I had already put it in the "toolbox" to go back to the camper. I have one and it's easy to hook up so I figured it was worth a try. I will let you know if it worked when I get to camper Friday evening.

B-band converters are required for NON-SWM set-ups only. SWiM's usually have an external 23volt power inserter that the single lnb cable is connected to. This set-up then split (using special satellite splitter) to feed multiple Tv's.
I'm not familiar with the King Dome so, I don't know if it has its' own built in power inserter. Is the King Dome a SWiM or NON-SWiM configuration?
__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 10:09 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 32
It's a non SWM from what I understand but it is only capable of receiving SD programming
Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 10:23 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 2,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond View Post
It's a non SWM from what I understand but it is only capable of receiving SD programming

Yes.....101 sat only. B-band converter probably required. Also, do you have your receiver set up to display "SD duplicates". You'll need to set it to choose SD channels to watch.......menu....settings & help......settings.....display.....preferences.... .Guide HD Channels, change this to "Show all channels" or "Hide HD channels". This will allow the guide to show SD equivelent channels. However, if there are HD channels on the 101 sat. and you choose "Hide HD channels", you will only have access to the SD equivalent.
__________________

__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 AM.


×