Old 04-07-2012, 06:33 PM   #1

Purchase of all american toyhauler - Sport

Hello all, I am new to this whole camping thing. My wife and I just had our second son (10 days old). As a result, my wife can't come out to the dirt bike track with our oldest son and I. We were looking at getting a camper for camping purposes and now we found ourselves needing a camper for both the tracks and camping.

Anyway, we are currently looking at a 2002 Forest River All American 24' toy hauler. The seller appears to be a dealer and does not appear to have much info on it. Of course I found it on Craig's list and it is 3 hours away. I am thinking of driving there and looking at it next week. The seller advised he will email me the specs on Monday. I am thinking of offering him 6K. This is a few hundred under what he is asking.

Also, I have an older Honda 3500 generator. Will this run the camper's a/c unit?

Any help would be a great help.

Thanks Eric and family

Old 04-07-2012, 07:01 PM   #2
Moderators' Assistant

since you don't say where you live, it's hard to say what a good price is, since it varies by what region of the U.S. you are.
Midwest areas have better prices than the coastal areas.
also, providing a link to the Craig's listing would help.

as far as the Honda 3500, it depends on the size of the a/c, 13.5k or 15k.
and if it's open-framed, don't use it in campgrounds. at races or boondocking, it would be fine.

2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 07:29 PM   #3
Just an Engineer

You do need to think about the generator and when you can use it. Lots of campgrounds and other places don't allow generators or limit the hours when they can be used.