Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-16-2017, 07:04 PM   #1

Windshield mounted GPS for hauling the Toy Hauler

Hey everyone and thanks for all the great information from this forum so far ... I am looking for feedback on purchasing a GPS for use in my truck while hauling the toy hauler ... I would like one that will connect to the wireless backup camera ... as well as one that will help me plot my trips with the camper so that I stay away from low bridges etc. and I'm hoping for one that will also help me find truck stops as well as rest stops during the trip ... anyone have any suggestions on what to buy or even what NOT to buy? I'm new at pulling a camper if this size (35 feet) and need all the help I can get.

Thanks
Brad
selandbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 07:17 PM   #2
Ret E-9 Anchor-clanker

Do you have a smart phone? Millions of apps for these things.
donanddona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 08:55 AM   #3

Unfortunately it have a smart phone however I can't use it as gps ... my Data gets "throttled down" really early in the month and then I am unable to use data on the phone for stuff like this.
selandbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 12:45 PM   #4

I now have the Garmin RV760LMT, which Garmin just replaced with the RV770LMT. Not sure if the newer model is any better for the price (plenty of the older still in stock). Both have the capability of the backup camera. Plus free traffic (you need your phone for that), which works just as well as the traffic in Google maps.

I have gone x-country using google maps (android auto in my truck), which is okay on the west coast, but not for the east coast. Some very interesting and stressful routing . Ended up just using road maps on that trip.