Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2013, 10:21 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Full timing around the states
Posts: 99
Getting a new FR3. Thinking of adding to an invertor in order to have a 120 volt source with out turning on the generator and boon docking. Don't need much amperage. Looking for an alarm clock, small electric heater in the cold season, charge a phone. Figure just one outlet in the center of the unit.
Now just starting to look at any options of what might be possible, of if it is even worth the money and time to do?
__________________

__________________
Ron Chamber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 10:40 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
43D18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 261
You will need a pretty substantial inverter to power any kind of heater. One large enough for that is likely to be fairly expensive.
__________________

__________________
Mike & Suz
2014 Georgetown 351
Pontiac Vibe toad
Buck & Patsy, the boston-mix guard dogs
43D18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 10:56 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
The other loads can be 12V (phone) and a wind up clock. Inverters are inherently very energy wasteful and you'd end up adding batteries. Better off with small solar system and use your gas heater, sparingly.....
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 12:58 AM   #24
MI Camperz
 
bodzcampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,640
I saw the picture from the link. I don't get how it has Class C attributes at all...It just looks like a Class A motor home to me. Even says, "Class A Motorhome"
__________________
MI Camperz
bodzcampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 08:08 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
43D18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodzcampers View Post
I saw the picture from the link. I don't get how it has Class C attributes at all...It just looks like a Class A motor home to me. Even says, "Class A Motorhome"
Drop down overhead bunk is the primary reason for the class C "attribute"
__________________
Mike & Suz
2014 Georgetown 351
Pontiac Vibe toad
Buck & Patsy, the boston-mix guard dogs
43D18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 07:40 AM   #26
MI Camperz
 
bodzcampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,640
Oh, I see. Nice model either way. Coming in around 30' vs. 40' is a little more flexible for a lot of people, I imagine. Very Kewl.
__________________
MI Camperz
bodzcampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 07:57 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Full timing around the states
Posts: 99
Just got, and hooked up my new FR3. They seem to have a problem remembering which water input is for 'fresh water tank' and the 'city water hookup'. Hooked water up, then went inside to make sure water turned on. Found no pressure! Went outside and noticed water flowing onto the ground from the overflow hose. Killed the city water, swapped connections, and all worked!! Luckily I had read of this happening before on a different model.
__________________
Ron Chamber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 09:19 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Online_17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Chamber View Post
Just got, and hooked up my new FR3. They seem to have a problem remembering which water input is for 'fresh water tank' and the 'city water hookup'. Hooked water up, then went inside to make sure water turned on. Found no pressure! Went outside and noticed water flowing onto the ground from the overflow hose. Killed the city water, swapped connections, and all worked!! Luckily I had read of this happening before on a different model.
Which one was the correct connection?
Pick mine up next week.
__________________
Online_17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 10:04 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Full timing around the states
Posts: 99
Left = fresh water tank. Right = city water line. At least on my unit.
__________________
Ron Chamber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 10:46 PM   #30
Retired US Army CW4
 
Tom and Kat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fullerton, California
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Chamber View Post
Just got, and hooked up my new FR3. They seem to have a problem remembering which water input is for 'fresh water tank' and the 'city water hookup'. Hooked water up, then went inside to make sure water turned on. Found no pressure! Went outside and noticed water flowing onto the ground from the overflow hose. Killed the city water, swapped connections, and all worked!! Luckily I had read of this happening before on a different model.
The first time out in my 2014 Georgetown 329DS the same thing happened to me. The dealer thought I had a bad pressure valve in the water pump until they got a look at it. All of the labels for my fresh, city and black flush were labeled incorrectly. Called Forest River and they said this has come up a couple of times and they are addressing it. In the meantime the dealer has ordered me a new set of labels that have the correct markings.
__________________

__________________
2014 Georgetown 329DS
Towing a 2011 Jeep Wrangler JKU w/ReadyBrake
Yorkie guard dog on the dash
Tom and Kat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.