Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-11-2015, 12:48 PM   #1

RV Quality?

I'm no authority but I do know quality when I see it... and I believe I know crap when I see it. I am a licensed aircraft mechanic (A&P) but i do not work in that industry... because IT pays better. So enough about me... just so the reader knows I'm not affiliated with the RV industry in any way other than as a consumer.

I went to the Tarrant County RV Show yesterday at the Ft. Worth Convention center. Sorry to say that I didn't any improvement in quality over my first travel trailer that I purchased 5 years ago. There were a couple of bright spots but just a couple. Their price tags reflected that improvements in quality would definitely come at an increased cost. To me, that's understandable and OK... to a point. What I noticed was, as the quality improvements went up, the price increased exponentially. To top that off, the appliances and all were the same. Really?!?! Again, I come away from this feeling disappointed. Will this industry ever come up to a better standard?
schrederman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 01:01 PM   #2

Short answer....Nope. Not as long as people continue to purchase the new crap coming off the assy line.
1986 Marriage to "Wifey" (patience of a saint)
rattleNsmoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 01:12 PM   #3

I once was a Top Salesman for a Winnebago, Fleetwood, and Gulf-stream dealer. In my opinion unless you spend 400 Gs up you will experience disappointments. (quality control + the challenges of keeping the weight down, along with competitive pricing contribute to ho-hum product) In 10 years they all end being chicken coops in West VA or cluttering the scenic deserts of NM

Why buy one, crazy I guess. (just traded a Pleasure Way that I put ove 100K on)
Phinias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 01:15 PM   #4

RV Quality