Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2018, 05:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Wellsburg, WV
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to eprovenzano Send a message via MSN to eprovenzano
Added electrical box on its own circuit

We’ve frequently tripped a breaker especially in colder wedther when we’ll have a heater running. We’ll forget to turn off the heater and will run a coffee pot or toaster or some other electrical demanding appliance.

As I looked at the converter / electrical breaker / 12 volt fuse panel which is under my refrigerator I thought there was enough room to add an additional outlet. I wanted to run the outlet on its own circuit breaker. I pulled out the converter and found room in the panel next to the converter. I used a retrofit electrical box, cut the hole in the paneling and mounted the box. Ran wire into the converter, and installed an additional 15 amp breaker. Made all the connections and new I have an electrical plug on its own circuit. No more tripping breakers.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	492A46EA-3BC4-477E-8E22-5BF171B01F46.jpg
Views:	175
Size:	313.1 KB
ID:	187885   Click image for larger version

Name:	92A61EB0-64BA-4763-82F0-BA63349B182F.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	317.1 KB
ID:	187886   Click image for larger version

Name:	E697CB44-C920-42A6-9665-78313102EB00.jpg
Views:	171
Size:	231.8 KB
ID:	187887  
__________________

eprovenzano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 06:35 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Baraboo, WI
Posts: 215
It is always good to have high amp items on their own circuit. You may find that if you get more high amp circuits running you will get your main breaker to trip. You will then have to decide what items you want to run anyway.
__________________

BarabooBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 06:59 PM   #3
Lacey's Spring, AL
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lacey's Spring, AL
Posts: 2,246
yep, most of the time the factories don't give us enough SEPARATE circuits, for times like these... otherwise it makes you have to 'share' the circuit with another 'larger' appliance or device, which aggravates the owner when they want to do both at the same time : /

travel, park, enjoy!
__________________

The Turners
'14 Thor Palazzo 33.3 diesel
KingTailgater2 Dish, 100w/5amps roof SOLAR, BlueOx,
100,000+mi since '14, US, Alaska, Canada, now Lacey's Spring, AL : )
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 07:10 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Wellsburg, WV
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to eprovenzano Send a message via MSN to eprovenzano
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarabooBob View Post
It is always good to have high amp items on their own circuit. You may find that if you get more high amp circuits running you will get your main breaker to trip. You will then have to decide what items you want to run anyway.
I agree, but I feel better splitting the electrical load onto seperate circuits.
eprovenzano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 01:05 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: 8300 Feet - Rocky Mountains
Posts: 1,023
Did the same for the same reason on a little PUP years ago. Our furnace would startle us awake each time it fired, so when we had shore power, we'd use a little 1500 watt ceramic heater to heat the PUP instead of the furnace. Worked great. Use a high quality GFCI outlet just in case.

P.S. But don't rely on this arrangement and overload the circuit if you've stepped down from 30 amps to a 15 amp connection if plugged in via a step-down adapter. You'll blow the breakers from your supply source...for example, your home. Then you're back to choosing one or the other.
__________________
Jim & Renee
2014 Forest River/Rockwood HW 277
2006 Ram 1500 4WD Crew with Firestone Airbags
Typical season is about 30 nights camping, usually nearby boondocking in the National Forests or at Lake Wellington
jimmoore13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 01:47 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Knowlton, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 42
Additional electrical box

Two years ago I added a totally separate outlet that bypasses everything in my 2006 Surveyor, including the converter.
I installed an outlet on the front panel of the sink cabinet so that I could hide the wire. I ran the wire down through the floor and installed an exterior outlet box under the floor (about 6 inches in from the exterior side of the trailer.)
I then retrofitted a second Male plug onto a 50 foot # 12 extension cord so that I could plug one end into the campsite pedestal 110 outlet and the other end into my new exterior outlet.
I have run a 1200 watt heater many times with this setup with no problems.
Barry1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 06:12 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Mid Michigan
Posts: 750
Did the same for the MH so we can run two space heaters at opposite ends to balance the heat. Can run both heaters on low to med down to about 40 degrees outside.
markb422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 06:41 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 2,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by formerFR View Post
yep, most of the time the factories don't give us enough SEPARATE circuits, for times like these... otherwise it makes you have to 'share' the circuit with another 'larger' appliance or device, which aggravates the owner when they want to do both at the same time : /

travel, park, enjoy!
Actually in many cases, the factory has no choice based on the electrical code. If you have a residential reefer, an electric hot water heater and an air conditioner (i.e. more than 2 thermostatically controlled loads) they cannot have more than 5 breakers on a 30 amp unit. It is just the way it is!
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 08:26 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Western PA
Posts: 79
Barry1, Do I understand you have TWO (2) Male ends on an extension cord? That's totally unacceptable. I hope I'm wrong in my understanding of your post. Your going to get someone seriously hurt someday if that's true.
weatherguru1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 08:34 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry1 View Post
Two years ago I added a totally separate outlet that bypasses everything in my 2006 Surveyor, including the converter.
I installed an outlet on the front panel of the sink cabinet so that I could hide the wire. I ran the wire down through the floor and installed an exterior outlet box under the floor (about 6 inches in from the exterior side of the trailer.)
I then retrofitted a second Male plug onto a 50 foot # 12 extension cord so that I could plug one end into the campsite pedestal 110 outlet and the other end into my new exterior outlet.
I have run a 1200 watt heater many times with this setup with no problems.
NEVER use an extension cord with two male ends. You will get somebody killed!!! use a proper WP male plug on the trailer.
__________________

__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.