Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2015, 07:21 AM   #11
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,475
Is your water heater on electric or anything else running to use up power?
__________________

__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
2015 129 nites
2016 63 nites
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 08:55 AM   #12
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
I suspect it's his generator that's the issue.
If in fact he has a receptacle such as my last picture it'll never work.
That receptacle is rated at 30 amp only on the 240v side and 15 amp at the 110v side.
I had the same issue with my 6875 watt generator untill I had it rewired.
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 02:27 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 114
Plug in the coach to shore power without using the genny. If the A/C works properly don't even waste your time with a hard start kit. It's your genny she's not enough.
__________________
FOREST RIVER FW 8524RLWS
2010 FORD F 150 5.4
#1-18' Nomad #2- 20' Mallard #3- 27' Sunline #4- Four Winds C #5- Innsbruck 40' PARK # 6- 28' Amerilite #7- Forest River 26.5 FW ( 1st FW)
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 03:43 PM   #14
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,256
I can run my stock 13.5 Dometic, with my Honda 2000.
Was even able to run it for awhile, in Yellowstone.
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 03:57 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by SULTINI View Post
Plug in the coach to shore power without using the genny. If the A/C works properly don't even waste your time with a hard start kit. It's your genny she's not enough.
It is not a waist of time or monies to put on a hard start as mentioned. It will help prolong your start winding. It one of the best and cheapest things you can install....
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 04:45 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 217
I just installed hard start on both of my ACs and had one on my old camper. On the old camper I had a harbor freight generator noisy but works well. and ran my 1300 BTU ac. I am hoping it will run 1 of my 1500 BTU ac
__________________
NorSnrub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 05:08 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
rsdata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 1,547
My recent write-up on hard start cap and 2500 watt genny might give you some hints

Installing hard start cap on 13.5 Coleman AC unit
__________________


2014 Shamrock 183
2014 RAM 1500 Bighorn Crew Cab, HEMI, 3.21 gears, 8 Spd, 4X4
rsdata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 06:21 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
It is not a waist of time or monies to put on a hard start as mentioned. It will help prolong your start winding. It one of the best and cheapest things you can install....
" In the HVAC field 45 years . It is a waste. If it works on shore /land line it should work from proper Generator. "
__________________
FOREST RIVER FW 8524RLWS
2010 FORD F 150 5.4
#1-18' Nomad #2- 20' Mallard #3- 27' Sunline #4- Four Winds C #5- Innsbruck 40' PARK # 6- 28' Amerilite #7- Forest River 26.5 FW ( 1st FW)
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 07:28 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
I would look at the WEB SITE scooter wholesale, they have came out with a digital generator that they show for RV'S, that they say will run a 30 amp trailer that cost $1500.00....
Could you post the link for that website? Can't find any info with a search. Thanks!
__________________
jimc51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 09:46 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 66
Turbs,

Thank you for the reply. Yes, my generator has a 4 prong plug exactly the same as the picture you posted. I have two identical generators and both of them kick offline after a couple of minutes, even if nothing else in the RV is powered up at the same time ( water heater, fridge, lights, etc.). I figure it's the type of generator I have since I've tried both of them and each one kicks offline. I want to purchase the Champion 75531i 3100 watt inverter generator to run my AC while dry camping. Do you think this model will handle the load? http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...dp_o_pd_nS_ttl
__________________

__________________
2016 Roo19 Hybrid
2015 GMC Sierra 4x4 Crew Cab
OK3wire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.