Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-31-2014, 12:39 AM   #21
Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by kandl View Post
The Water Pur filters are pricey - a good carbon filter runs about $10.

How so? Our bowl has been off/on numerous times and we're not detecting any issues that would be prompting us to remove the assy.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kellieh04 View Post
Please forgive me if this sounds like a stupid question, a newbie here. Does the water that comes through the water hose into the trailer go through the filter or is the filter for the water in the holding tank? I personally like the idea of the water filter because of the chemicals and "bugs" that are in our water. What causes the filter to leak water all over the floor? Also we just got our Roo a day ago and we are still exploring. I haven't found the filter yet. Where is it? We have a 23IKSS. Thank you all for your help.

There have been many reports on these forums of the FR1 whole house water filter unscrewing itself or backing off its threads under pressure. As a result It allows running water to continuously run into a trailer or basement depending on location. Appears to be a pretty common occurrence. Many bypass this to prevent water damage and give themselves peace of minds, others change it out after the fact. Many different fixes out there. Doing a forum search will net you lots of threads on the topic. Here is one such thread. Water filter blowout. And another Water filter nightmare

Kellieh- it is possible you don't have one, the water filter is an option on the trailers.
asquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2014, 12:43 AM   #22
Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdubs View Post
I"ve read several ways but this has got to be the easiest and cheapest way. A 1/2 inch threaded pvc coupler. That's all u need and it costs less than a $1.

Attachment 65536