Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-07-2015, 11:41 AM   #1

Dec.7 Pearl Harbor Day!

My Dads Grave! Youroo!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF4741.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	672.9 KB
ID:	95720  
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 11:56 AM   #2
Site Team

Hat's off to your dad, and all the rest of the greatest generation. I am an avid WW II amateur historian and words cannot truly express what we owe the men and women from this era.

My bucket list includes being able to get to Pearl, to pay my respects to the ones who lost their lives there.

Is that a GM1 (Gunners Mate 1st Class), I see on your dad's grave? So, he was on the battleship West Virginia, which was sunk.

Here is some more of that story for our members who may not know.

http://www.homeofheroes.com/pearlhar...arl_4fire.html

For those who may not be into history, but have seen the recent movie Pearl Harbor, the role that the actor Cuba Gooding played was aboard Youroos dads ship, the West Virginia. You may remember him manning the machine gun.

http://kut.org/post/pearl-harbor-her...ng-jr-was-waco

A 72 hour hold in a psych unit is beginning to intrigue me as a potential vacation opportunity.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 05:20 PM   #3
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
Hat's off to your dad, and all the rest of the greatest generation. I am an avid WW II amateur historian and words cannot truly express what we owe the men and women from this era.
Big Ditto, Bobby!

I too am an amateur WW II historian.
I seriously doubt if our country will ever produce another generation, like the Greatest Generation.
They survived the Great Depression, WW II and came home to build America into the greatest country in the world.

Years ago, I worked with the treasurer of the Pearl Harbor Survivors Assn.