Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-27-2018, 11:55 AM   #1

2018 Grey Wolf 17BHSE Winterizing

I plan on doing the air compressor method to winterize. This is my first time winterizing. I believe I have a pretty good handle on the process but am confused on the HW heater part.

If I drain the hot water heater do I need to leave the anode plug out and use compressed air to get any residual water out and then plug it back up so I can pressurize the rest of the system and blow out the rest of the water lines? Also, by using the compressed air method, do I still need to bypass the HW heater?

Thanks!
ArkansasGreyWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 12:23 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArkansasGreyWolf View Post
I plan on doing the air compressor method to winterize. This is my first time winterizing. I believe I have a pretty good handle on the process but am confused on the HW heater part.

If I drain the hot water heater do I need to leave the anode plug out and use compressed air to get any residual water out and then plug it back up so I can pressurize the rest of the system and blow out the rest of the water lines? Also, by using the compressed air method, do I still need to bypass the HW heater?

Thanks!
More knowledgeable frogs will be along but- I think you bypass the wh to avoid getting antifreeze in it. By pulling the anode rod and leaving it out let’s any remaining water evaporate. Others are concerned about bugs getting in the wh without the rod in place. Mine is removed and left out for the winter. Not many bugs flying arose in the snow.
H20loo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 12:25 PM   #3

Thanks but I don’t plan on using anti freeze. Just blowing out the lines and leaving faucets open.
ArkansasGreyWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 01:04 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArkansasGreyWolf View Post