Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2015, 09:43 PM   #1
Member
 
GuppyWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 50
30amp derive run - 200'

I own a mountain property where I currently use twin Yamaha inverters to power my Wildcat. I do have a service pole 200' away. Can I run 30amp service that distance with 8 gauge wire and still have the punch to start my 15,000 air conditioner?
__________________

__________________
GuppyWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 09:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,604
Hello,
The voltage loss would be too great. For 200 ft you would need 6 awg for acceptable voltage loss at 30 amps load.

Voltage Drop Calculator

4% loss is acceptable assuming you have 120 volts availible
__________________

__________________
B and B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 10:00 PM   #3
Member
 
GuppyWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 50
Thank you for the education. Why does a 50amp service have more drop over that distance than a 30amp service?

Would you get UV wire or run it in a conduit?
__________________
GuppyWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2015, 07:14 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,604
With out getting too technical. Think of a water pipe. The resistance to flow of a long pipe and if you try to push more water through the is more resistance than with a lower amount of water.
The loss is a wire is the resistance to current flow. The resulting loss is lower voltage out than what goes on.
The higher the flow the more pipe or in this case wire size is required to have the same loss.

You have several choices for type of wire. Direct burial is an option, trench requires sand or soft soil to compact around the wire. Might require a barrier on top, usually tracer take so people know when diging wire is below. Conduit at 200 feet would require a pull box mid span to service or repull wires. I would go with conduit which would allow les costly types of 90 degrees wire inside. You can always re pull the wire if required.
Arial wire is the cheapest option. Need poles installed for this, could be done by yourself but more unsightly.
__________________
B and B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2015, 10:15 AM   #5
Member
 
GuppyWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 50
Thank you very much! Placing the wire in conduit will not be an eye sore. The run is through native weeds and grass.
__________________
GuppyWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2015, 01:40 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Forbes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 703
You can use the gray conduct underground, size of wire should be #6 copper or #4 aluminum for around 24 amp's. I would go to an electric supply store and look at getting service lead of #4 copper, know the cost will be higher than aluminum but you will not have any problems with it and it will give you a full 30 amp's.
__________________
Roger & Mary Forbes
WB4FSN
Little Lady (Dog)
2014 F350 / 2015 CC 36 CKTS
Days Camping 2014-96, 2015-130, 2016-126, 2017-42 and counting
Forbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2015, 03:51 PM   #7
TGR
Senior Member
 
TGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 186
I would also consider the cost/benefit of installing a 50 amp service that would work well for a future 50-amp camper. The larger service would allow A/C, water heater and microwave to operate simultaneously.
__________________
2015 Wildcat 282 RKX
2011 F350 Lariat, 6.7 L. Diesel, 8 ft., SRW, Reese R20
TGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2015, 04:36 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
fast murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SD
Posts: 439
If I was doing this I would be preferably vibrating in a 1/0-1/0-2 URD direct burial cable going to one of these:
E-Catalog Error!
This is suitable for use as service equipment so it would need 2 grounds rods driven and would be considered a service. If it's to be fed from an existing service like a breaker panel this one would work:
E-Catalog Error!
This one would need a #6 USE cable in addition to the 1/0-1/0-2 URD cable but would not require any additional grounding as the #6 would be the grounding conductor.


Do it right the 1st time and never look back!
__________________
2004 Wildcat 28BH
2012 Ram 2500 CCSB 6.7CTD
fast murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2015, 09:37 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by fast murray View Post
If I was doing this I would be preferably vibrating in a 1/0-1/0-2 URD direct burial cable going to one of these:
E-Catalog Error!
This is suitable for use as service equipment so it would need 2 grounds rods driven and would be considered a service. If it's to be fed from an existing service like a breaker panel this one would work:
E-Catalog Error!
This one would need a #6 USE cable in addition to the 1/0-1/0-2 URD cable but would not require any additional grounding as the #6 would be the grounding conductor.


Do it right the 1st time and never look back!
Doing it right involves one additional step - checking the local electrical codes.

As an example, a building fed from a single service line does not require grounding if the service line comes from a grounded distribution panel (National Electric Code). In NM, state code recinds that section of the NEC and requires an additional pair of ground rods at the building.

Phil
__________________
pmsherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2015, 11:34 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
fast murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SD
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmsherman View Post
Doing it right involves one additional step - checking the local electrical codes.

As an example, a building fed from a single service line does not require grounding if the service line comes from a grounded distribution panel (National Electric Code). In NM, state code recinds that section of the NEC and requires an additional pair of ground rods at the building.

Phil
Um right, so what I'm saying is that if this is to be treated as a service it needs ground rods. This is assuming it is a pedestal in the middle of a field and is being fed from the power supplier's equipment be it a transformer or a their metering equipment. If its being fed from a shed or whatever and is being fed from a circuit breaker in the panel in the shed, it needs a separate grounding conductor in addition to the grounded (neutral conductor). As per the NEC but you should indeed consult your local codes. In SD we have a state wiring bulletin that has some additional requirements but nothing on this, this is the way its done here.
__________________

__________________
2004 Wildcat 28BH
2012 Ram 2500 CCSB 6.7CTD
fast murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« CHOCKS | RIMS »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.