Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2015, 10:54 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: mayberry
Posts: 27
antenna and 2 tvs what am i missing ??

we are setting up seasonal at a cg this may the campground doesn't have cable but last year we used the antenna and got plenty of channels but only on the bedroom tv what am i missing any info will be greatly appreciated 2011 shasta revere 26rls
__________________

__________________
sparkync1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 09:40 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkync1 View Post
we are setting up seasonal at a cg this may the campground doesn't have cable but last year we used the antenna and got plenty of channels but only on the bedroom tv what am i missing any info will be greatly appreciated 2011 shasta revere 26rls
Did you go to the TV menu to set it up for the antenna and then scan for new channels?
__________________

__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
2015 129 nites
2016 63 nites
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 09:50 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
jaxfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: jacksonville fl
Posts: 319
You do have a converter for each TV?
__________________
jaxfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 09:56 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Toby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Western Iowa
Posts: 578
I spliced the signal from my antenna and ran a line back to the bedroom. The signal is just barely enough to power both TV's so I am adding an amplified splitter to mine. I put one in the house and it works great. Sadly, FR doesn't include the coax back to the second TV in the bedroom from the main TV. I sure wish they would.
__________________
2012 Ford F-150 EB 3.73
2015 Forest River 25RR
2004 Honda GL1800
Toby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 12:33 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Halifax Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 571
You may need to install the TV Antenna amplifier between the antenna cable and the two TV's
__________________
Jim in Halifax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 02:29 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Toby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Western Iowa
Posts: 578
Correct.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2012 Ford F-150 EB 3.73
2015 Forest River 25RR
2004 Honda GL1800
Toby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 07:13 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: mayberry
Posts: 27
I don't have a converter for either tv and yes I tried the scanning for new channels
__________________
sparkync1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 07:14 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: mayberry
Posts: 27
The tv jacks are factory installed where would the amplifier go ?
__________________
sparkync1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 09:56 AM   #9
Ret E-9 Anchor-clanker
 
donanddona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Genoa, ILL
Posts: 1,424
I would start at the TV following the coaxial cable back to the amp switch. Sounds like a connection is loose or not connected. This is often a tedious task but it should yield positive results. And, don't rule out a bad cable, the use of a jumper coaxial is handy. Attached dia. it the amp switch, normally located below the TV. All on mine were loose. It happens....
Attached Images
 
__________________
Don & Dona W/yorkies Gizmo, Master Chief, & Tali
2011 Flagstaff 8528 BHSS 2015 Ford 6.7 XLT
2010 Full Timers & Still Going
donanddona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 08:00 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Toby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Western Iowa
Posts: 578
I took my camper out over the weekend with the amp installed and still no signal. You can't clear up nothing I guess. When I got home on Sunday, I removed the plug and found that all three of the connections behind the plug (as shown above) were loose. I tightened those up and the picture did come in better. I also observed that they used quality connectors this time where in my last camper they used the cheapest thing they could find. I'm still not convinced that the antenna on my camper is junk but I will try it again next trip out (works find at home).

When I unplug the amp the picture does pixel-ate now. Maybe the combination of tightening the connectors and the amp did the trick. Time will tell.

As a backup I bought a MOHU leaf antenna so will try that too if I need to. I have a whole house MOHU installed and that thing is awesome.
__________________

__________________
2012 Ford F-150 EB 3.73
2015 Forest River 25RR
2004 Honda GL1800
Toby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.