Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-05-2013, 10:08 PM   #1

Any way to secure shore power cord?

Recently purchased an Apex 268BHS. New to all of this but am learning tons from these forums. I'm a retired cop and naturally am paranoid. Dope heads will steal anything that isn't secured and I was wondering about my 30 amp shore power cord. Bound to be a lot of copper in it (a meth head's dream). My cord has the screw plug on the trailer side and the regular plug on the hook up side. I've been trying to figure out a way to secure it when we are camping but am coming up empty. Any ideas or am I too paranoid? That cord is expensive!
Old 08-05-2013, 10:41 PM   #2
2011 Forest River Stealth

So far I haven't heard of anyone stealing cords in all my camping years. Not saying it will not happen. Sad to say, I think if someone wants it bad enough there going to take it secure or not. So far I have never had a problem.
rwtdct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 12:03 AM   #3
Just a member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Skippy View Post
Any ideas or am I too paranoid? That cord is expensive!
Not too paranoid and I've pondered the same issue. Check this out:

RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Truck Campers: Electrical power cord theft

kandl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 04:36 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwtdct View Post
So far I haven't heard of anyone stealing cords in all my camping years. Not saying it will not happen. Sad to say, I think if someone wants it bad enough there going to take it secure or not. So far I have never had a problem.