Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-07-2014, 06:51 PM   #1

Applying Meguiars Oxidation remover and then wax

Okay, I started to apply the Meguiars Oxidation remover and then wax. I applied by hand and removed the same way. I have so far only done the front cap on our fifth wheel and still have 40 feet on both sides and the back to do. Doing it by hand is quite a workout. Not great for an asthmatic either. The little foam pads that I got to apply this stuff loads up quickly with the oxidation remover. Anyone have any tips, tricks, and or thoughts on an easier way. I have no polisher and no experience with one either.
OKI Marine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 07:14 PM   #2

Don't have a good answer, but started the same thing this evening. Only got a small side 1/4 panel done. I do have have a orbital buffer, so am going to order some foam pads for it. Hope someone has an easier solution.
ACE110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 09:59 AM   #3
Broken Toe

spend the money and get a good buffer. NOT an orbital one from wal-mart for $25, but a true, variable speed buffer. Look in pawn shops, you can usually get a decent on for $50-60.

This is the one I bought new for about $180

These picture shows what I did with it. There is no way in hell I would have even attempted this without owning a good buffer.

Starting point:

Halfway down one side

End product:

Tim

"Camper" 2016
Rockwood Signature Ultralite 8329ss
"Casper" 2017 Ram 2500 Laramie Diesel
..ProPride 3P Hitch - "Yeah. It's worth it."
Cowracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 06:44 PM   #4

I use an orbital with great success.Buy some extra pads that fit the wheel.$25 at Walmart is money well spent.
Old 03-17-2015, 05:17 PM   #5

Have to be very careful with a buffer like that I would get an orbital I use one and it works great

Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums