Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-17-2014, 09:22 PM   #1
Puzzlme

Boondocking with a CPAP device.

Just wondering if anyone has a solution to running a CPAP medical device while camped without power? I'm taking a month this summer to travel in my motor home. I'm a complete newbie but I'm thinking I'm probably not the only one traveling with this type of device. What do you use to power yours? Looking for tips, not looking forward to sleeping without it.
Thanks
Puzzlme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 09:32 PM   #2

Send a message via AIM to B and B
Hi,
My unit has a 12 volt cord available for it. Use your coach battery, not start battery, to power overnight. The humidifier will draw a lot more current, I would recommend you avoid its use.I have 2 machines and the newer res,Ed one draws half the power of the older one.

Brian
2015 Heartland Bighorn 5th Wheel
2013 FR Rockwood 8289WS 5th Wheel
2012 FR Rockwood 2703 SS Travel Trailer
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 09:39 PM   #3

6 Actual (DW) uses one (Icon model with humidifier) And she can use the whole unit on the battery pack they have. Only problem is they are expensive. I agree with B&B - see if you can get a 12V cord but you will have to go without the humidifier I believe
Nights Camped: 2013 - 242014 - 422015 - 56Jul 2016 - Fulltime
BamaBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 09:39 PM   #4
Denver, CO

get an inverter, an extra battery, and a battery monitor and you should be okay.. how many amps goes the CPAP draw? From what I can tell it can be from about 1.5 amps without a humidifier to 5 or so amps. an 80 am deep cycle should be enough for one night assuming max draw, up to several night at the lower amp draws.
Old 05-17-2014, 09:50 PM   #5
Mod free 5er