Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-04-2012, 08:08 AM   #1

Cleaning question

Being a newbie I'm not sure which thread(s) would best suit my question, but I'll start here. When is the best time to clean upholstery? Our grandchildren were with us last weekend and it was a muddy one. I spot cleaned the upholstery & carpet as needed but wondered what the best practice was, at the end of the season or when you get your unit out in the spring. Unfortunately we will have only a few more nights out before we winterize.

Nights camped 2012-2017 118, 2018 53,
The Wolfs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 07:54 PM   #2

We usually use our carpet cleaner on the carpet before we close for the winter just make sure it has ample time to dry and air out before closing it up.As for the upholstery usually a good vacuuming will do. If there are any dirty or greasy spots I usually use a scrub brush after hitting it with spot cleaner. (Make sure you try it on a inconspicuous area first) it will get most stains out. The scrub brush also helps get stubborn stains out of the carpet also I use a pet stain,and spot remover to get these spots. I hint from a van conversion factory I worked at you can throw a few dryer sheets in the rig scatter them around and it will be fresh smelling in the spring. We used this when stolen vehicles were brought in to be refurbished and they reeked of pot, tobacco, and alcohol. We'd scatter them all over and lock the van in a storage shed for a few days and it would kill most of the stink.
brokenaxle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:54 PM   #3