Old 03-14-2019, 08:06 AM   #1

cold weather travel new RVer

I am fairly new to RVing. Have had my Class C 2016 Coachman Leprechaun 220QB less than a year. Am traveling from Florida March 24 to a seasonal job in a national park in South Dakota arriving April 8. I didn't realize that night time temperatures can still be so cold that time of year. A customized skirt is not an option and the DIY skirting projects seem a bit overwhelming at this time. Should I winterize and see if staying in employee housing the first week or two is an option? Obviously I would prefer to live in my RV from the get go if possible. When I see wrapping pipes,etc skirting, putting a heater under the RV I get a bit anxious. Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Thank you all in advance.

judyoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 08:42 AM   #2
Gold Tee Box

The last average frost/freeze date where we are in Missourah is April 23rd. Whatever you do, I would prepare for a longer period of time.

I am sure others who are more familiar with your unit can give specific advice.

42 campgrounds/292 nights since 2015
Teetime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 09:02 AM   #3
Site Team

Hi Judy! Welcome to FRF!
You don't say which park but I just googled average temps in Badlands NP.
April doesn't look too bad.

My advice is take a good look at the forecast for the area you are headed right before you leave. You might be OK.
Worst case is you winterize and still stay in your RV. We've dry camped in cold weather many times. Get a Blue water tote for coffee and cooking and drinking. Flush the potty with a milk jug of water sitting next to it. OR better use the park rest rooms for showers and potty as much as possible.
Good luck and have fun!!!
Happy Trails!
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41, 2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63, 2018-75, 2019-32
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 09:18 AM   #4