Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-07-2017, 07:47 AM   #1

DeWinterize

Hello ,

Travel Trailer newbie here. Sorry for the flood of silly questions.

1. When I dewinterie using city water, do I still need to fill and flush the fresh water tanK?

2. If I only plan to use city water and not Boonedock do I still need to fill and flush the white water tank?

3. Will it harm the camper to leave the antifreeze in the black and grey tanks until they are 3/4 full and ready to be emptied?

4. If I mess up and don't flush the antifreeze enough is the water still safe to use?

Thanks!
Jaye
Pastorjaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2017, 07:57 AM   #2
Pickin', Campin', Mason

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pastorjaye View Post
Hello ,

Travel Trailer newbie here. Sorry for the flood of silly questions.

1. When I dewinterie using city water, do I still need to fill and flush the fresh water tanK?

2. If I only plan to use city water and not Boonedock do I still need to fill and flush the white water tank?

3. Will it harm the camper to leave the antifreeze in the black and grey tanks until they are 3/4 full and ready to be emptied?

4. If I mess up and don't flush the antifreeze enough is the water still safe to use?

Thanks!
Jaye
Questions 1 & 2...
Yes you should even if you 'plan' to never use it.
It's always a good idea to carry at least a few gallons of water in the fresh tank for those unexpected potty breaks or washing of hands after a flat tire or Heaven forbid you break down and have to stay somewhere other than you 'thought' you were going to be that had hook-ups.

Also there's been times when in a full hook up campground that the power went out and they couldn't provide water. Having some water in the tank has saved us.