Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2015, 08:22 AM   #21
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by DBsRedVett View Post
I have Dish HD, two receivers. One problem I have is I travel so much to dog shows, it pisses me off overtime I get to a location I have to call, stay on the phone with about 15 min. so they can get my location in.

Is this so you can receive locals where your @?



The other big thing that pisses us off I bought all my equipment and they still charge me for my 2nd receiver.

They charge 7 dollars for each receiver.
I bought my equipment to and at $7.00 a mo. Is pretty cheap.



TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 08:44 AM   #22
Team Bleu
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 96
Now they went to $8.00. Don't know why, but I keep getting an error message so they have to reset me up as I get nothing. I have to give them my address every weekend or so, such a pain. Looking at new RV's and checking on different a different service or I may just stick to a regular antennae and screw the Dish
__________________

__________________
DBsRedVett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 08:45 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Independence, Kansas
Posts: 619
I have had dish at home for years. I bought a 211 receiver for the camper and the tailgater. When I get to the campground I call dish and they activate the receiver. When I get home I call them again and they turn it off. I'm charged only for the days I have it activated, no activation or deactivation fees. Can't be beat.
__________________
comfun1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 08:46 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
bend302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bronston, KY
Posts: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
Did you know the receiver can tune in OTR digital channels. After you are set up a a location, raise your antenna and go to menu, setup and scan locals. Of course, you have to have the antenna input connected to the receiver.

I have done it a couple of times when near a decent size city.

Bill
__________________

Life is a journey, not a destination.
2005 Georgetown 359ts
Bill & Virginia, Kentucky
Nights camped in 2011...78 , 2012...73,
Nights camped in 2013...123, 2014 ...101
bend302 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 08:46 AM   #25
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by DBsRedVett View Post
Now they went to $8.00. Don't know why, but I keep getting an error message so they have to reset me up as I get nothing. I have to give them my address every weekend or so, such a pain. Looking at new RV's and checking on different a different service or I may just stick to a regular antennae and screw the Dish
Do you have dish @ home?

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 08:52 AM   #26
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by comfun1 View Post
I have had dish at home for years. I bought a 211 receiver for the camper and the tailgater. When I get to the campground I call dish and they activate the receiver. When I get home I call them again and they turn it off. I'm charged only for the days I have it activated, no activation or deactivation fees. Can't be beat.
I think where some of the confusion is coming from is that some subscribers do not have dish network @ home so they have dish for my rv programing which is billed on a mo. By mo. Service.
And since there moving around it requires them to add in the "new" zip code for locals and such.

Now those of us that have dish home service can activate our receiver on a per use basis quick 5 minute call .
And if you don't care about locals "and your out of your local spot beam" they just use your home service zip.


TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 08:55 AM   #27
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by bend302 View Post
Did you know the receiver can tune in OTR digital channels. After you are set up a a location, raise your antenna and go to menu, setup and scan locals. Of course, you have to have the antenna input connected to the receiver.

I have done it a couple of times when near a decent size city.

Bill
I did know that.
We just use our ota antenna normally since we always have great local signal where we camp.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 09:05 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
I think where some of the confusion is coming from is that some subscribers do not have dish network @ home so they have dish for my rv programing which is billed on a mo. By mo. Service.
And since there moving around it requires them to add in the "new" zip code for locals and such.

Now those of us that have dish home service can activate our receiver on a per use basis quick 5 minute call .
And if you don't care about locals "and your out of your local spot beam" they just use your home service zip.


TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
And for those of us that have a VIP211K or Z that we use at home there is no need to call DISH unless one wants the local channels at the remote site location via satellite (we just use the OTA antenna for those). Just take the home receiver and hook it up in the RV and good to go no matter where you are and no extra charges.
__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 09:09 AM   #29
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbles View Post
And for those of us that have a VIP211K or Z that we use at home there is no need to call DISH unless one wants the local channels at the remote site location via satellite (we just use the OTA antenna for those). Just take the home receiver and hook it up in the RV and good to go no matter where you are and no extra charges.
Correct.

I used to use my receiver from my shop but when I went to the hopper system I could no longer do that as the new hopper receiver is not compatible with the tailgater antenna.


TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 09:10 AM   #30
Senior Member
 
Toby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Western Iowa
Posts: 578
I've had both and I would 100% go with Dish. I so can't wait for my contract to me over.
__________________

__________________
2012 Ford F-150 EB 3.73
2015 Forest River 25RR
2004 Honda GL1800
Toby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.