Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-13-2015, 10:47 AM   #1
Moderator Emeritus

Homemade Emergency Road Kit

After doing some research for good emergency road kits, we've decided to just make our own.

This is what mine consists of:

-2-ton floor jack plus a 2-ton bottle-type lift (I will replace them with 3-tons when I can)
-Two high-visibility safety vests
-Safety flares and triangle warning signs (I prefer flares that you don't have to ignite.)
-2 rain ponchos
-Spare TPMS batteries
-Numerous tools (leatherman, needle nose pliers, etc.)
-Wrenches for tires and my torque wrench
-Digital air pressure gauge
-Viair 12-volt compressor and extension wiring (I had to make my own extension cable.)
-Spare Truck and RV fuses and a fuse puller/tester
-Heavy-duty tuck tow strap
-First aid kit (the best ones are sold by the local Red Cross...I used to be a CPR/First Aid instructor for them.)
-Leather glove..and latex gloves
-Various small items (rope, string, bungee cords, duct tape, zip ties, etc.)

I try try to think of situations where I'm stuck in the boonies with a flat...rainy, dark, sandy, etc...and prep for that.

See anything I missed or do you carry other things?
8-year Travel Trailer RVers
2013 Forest River Rockwood Ultra-Lite 2904SS
2014 Toyota Tundra Maxcrew SR-5 TRD 4x4 (with Firestone airbags in the rear)
ColoradoRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 10:50 AM   #2

Flashlight with spare batteries
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019 (28) 2020 (35)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 10:50 AM   #3
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColoradoRick View Post
After doing some research for good emergency road kits, we've decided to just make our own.

This is what mine consists of: