Old 07-20-2016, 09:16 AM   #1
2011_ChaparralLite_270RKS

How should a request for commercial repair service in a state park be handled

While extending the stabilizers on the fifth wheel at Leasburg Dam State Park, New Mexico, I noticed a nail in the trailer tire. We tested and there was a slow leak. We called Good Sam Road Hazard to come out to change the tire out for the spare tire. Since I'm new to rving, it was the first time calling anyone. A tow company came out in an unmarked pickup truck and while changing the tire a ranger came by to let us know we didn't have a 'day use permit sticker/hangtag' displayed in the repairman's pickup. I naively explained that we had to call a tow company and we'll go back to the entrance and get the hang tag. It turns out you are not allowed to have commercial businesses on state property without prior authorizations. The ranger was kind and we agreed the fellow was a friend who came out to change the tire. In this case, we alternatively could have hooked back up and moved the trailer out to the highway (since it was a slow leak) but isn't there a possible scenario where one might need to call a mobile rv repair person to do some sort of repair while camped there? Or am I being overly worried and one can usually wait to have repairs done at the next campground? And does it seem that this rule only applies to some states and not all? Should I have checked with the ranger first to find out what process needed to be followed? Any ideas on how to plan for this are appreciated (including if I should not worry about it at all.)

Old 07-20-2016, 09:22 AM   #2

My entire statement is out of ignorance of laws and other states.......BUT.......

That's plumb insane!

Come down south. I doubt there's a campground in the South that would hassle anyone having trouble like that. In fact, I bet the park rangers would be helping the tow truck guy.

Geez.