Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-04-2015, 07:48 AM   #1

Parking a camper on a grassy field

Total noob to the whole travel trailer thing, so forgive me the rudimentary questions (there's likely to be more). I did a search but didn't come up with what I think I am looking for. My wife and I just got our first TT, a Rockwood 2906 WS or as I call it, the "Stress Sucking Machine".

Scenario: The range we frequent just put in a pole with 50 amp service essentially in the middle of a side yard. It's about like putting a pole in the middle of a football field. They have future plans for this area, but for now they put this in. The area is pretty level to the eye, but also a bit bumpy. Meaning, you could set a couple lawn chairs or a hammock up and be happy, but you'd want to watch where you put your beer. There is PLENTY of room to maneuver. It "looks" level, but the water has to shed somewhere and I doubt that it was ever really finish graded. I am guessing that it has only been mowed since it was originally cleared 20-30 years ago. It's perfect area for a friendly game of football, soccer, etc.

Here's what I am thinking: Go to Home Depot and get a 2x10 and a 1x10. Cut them in lengths about a foot or so longer than the distance from the front of the trailer front tire to the rear of the rear tire. Figure out where I want the trailer. If it's level, great. Back it up and throw a 2x10 in front of each wheel. Park it on those. Put 2x10x10 blocks under each stabilizer and the tongue and call it good.

If it isn't level, I think it can be made so by adding another 2x10 or a 1x10. I thought I would drill a 1" hole a few inches in from the ends to put a dowel rod through to "pin" them to keep them from sliding if I do have to stack them.

Why I think this is the right solution: