Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-14-2014, 08:36 AM   #1

Quick water question.

I am new to the camping scene and plan to visit a few State parks this summer that don't have water hook ups. Can I fill my fresh water tank at the campground? I don't like to travel with the extra weight of the water. Any thought would be welcome
Tomgky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 08:42 AM   #2

Yes. Double check the listing for the specific CG you are going to, but I have never run across one that doesn't either have a fresh water fill-up at the entrance, or in NY where we camp, there are water spigots every 10-12 sites along the road that you can use to fill up.

I think the majority of people going dry camping do this.

2022 Columbus 379MBC (Previous 2013 Rockwood Roo 23 IKSS)
2023 F-350 (Previous 2017 F250, 2005 F-150)
KMP44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 08:43 AM   #3

Most State Campgrounds have water available at the dump stations and other areas in the park. I carry a couple of six gal. containers that I bought at Walmart to haul water with if I need to. My old TT I could just pour it in but my new 5W I have to use a pump to put it in.

Have Fun
kc8lvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 08:44 AM   #4
Always Learning

Usually, yes you can. You should check with the campground to find out where the fresh water fill(s) are. They sometimes are inconveniently placed.
Old 03-14-2014, 08:52 AM   #5