Old 12-26-2013, 02:23 PM   #1

Seasonal Camping 101

Hello all! Hubby and I have been camping for more than 15 years from tent to pop up to travel trailer to bigger better travel trailer. Money, gas, and the inablility to find gas stations our 40 footer will fit in have made our transient lifestyle more work than fun. So we're giving up. We've selected one of our favorite places to give seasonal camping a try for 2014. I am terrified. Other than wood under the tires, a better plan for sewer hose (although our double tanks...galley/bath...will make this a challenge), and the never ending debate about slides in or out what tips do you all have to make our transition a smooth one? What do you laugh at the first timers for not knowing? Remember, we've been camping a long time, but we're used to fighting traffic, not rodents.

Old 12-26-2013, 06:15 PM   #2
Incheon, S. Korea

You move that much? A forty-footer is huge, but I'm presuming you are not on major freeways. I've seen lots of neat setups with class A rigs that are long term. You might want to search class A forums for ideas.

BigBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 08:02 PM   #3

We've been on a seasonal site for 6 years. Our slides go out April 15th and come in October 15th, never had a problem. Take a look at any RV lot, they leave the slides out until the unit sells. I keep the slide seals (top and sides) treated with Aerospace303 UV protectant. Here's a link to the seasonal camping thread which you might be interested in browsing through: http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ead-36009.html
Old 12-27-2013, 09:00 PM   #4

Sure hope there's a lot of responses here. Like kkhslh we're looking at a seasonal for 2014 after pulling the 35' Cardinal for 9 years and the 40' Cedar Creek 1 year.

C.B.
Old 12-31-2013, 01:17 AM   #5

Seasonal Camping 101