Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-26-2012, 06:42 PM   #1

Yet another storage question...

I'm a brand new owner (okay I'm not brand new but my trailer is and I'm brand new to TT's) of a 2012 Rockwood1905, gross trailer weight just over 4000 lb. Single axle. Am contemplating winter storage (outside in my driveway) My question is, how important is it to get the weight off the tires? If the need is to jack the trailer up, the procedure I contemplate is to measure to ground from level, lower front of trailer, place stack jacks of appropriate poundage under the frame at the back about 4" higher than my level, then use tongue jack to raise trailer front & insert stack jacks under the frame at the front & then lower the tongue jack & adjust stack jacks until trailer is level front to back. (assuming I've already leveled side to side and chocked wheels to prevent movement)
If all this is necessary, where on the frame is the best place for the stack jacks?
Thanks to all the forum contributors I think I have a handle on winterizing the plumbing, may try that this weekend or next.
Any other hints or tips on outside storage would be appreciated i.e. how important is an RV cover or wheel/tire covers. I'm mindful of humidity issues.
Thanks so much for your thoughtful replies!!!
Norm in Ontario (Canada, not California!)
Nammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 09:20 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

The Worst Enemy of Your Stored*RV