Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2015, 12:14 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Dutchmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 141
12 V will it run my electric outlets

I have a new 2514G and now that the new pup comes with a 12V battery I know it will power my lights, sound system, heater, etc....but will it power up my GFCI Outlets? I think not, but not sure.
__________________

__________________
Dutchmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 12:17 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
HONDAMAN174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Big brown desert
Posts: 2,319
Nope. Got to plug in for that and A/C.
__________________

__________________
2014 Stealth Evo 2850- "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra Rock Crawler TRD 5.7- "Clifford"
2013 Honda Accord Coupe V6 w/Track Pack- "Julia"

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 12:23 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Ford Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 9,840
If you want/need 110 ac you will need a 30 or 50 amp power outlet or a generator.

What is it you want/wish to power?
__________________
2016 F350 6.7L LB CC Reese 28K 2014 Chaparral Lite 266sab
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." 2014 19 days camping 2015 17 days camping201620 days camping
Ford Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 01:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 782
No ur outlets run on 110. The AC won't work either.
__________________
kinma13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 01:49 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Dutchmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 141
Thanks for the input. I thought it would not bur wanted to check. No specific need for outlets. Was just wondering for general use. I see myself eventually getting a simple quiet generator for dry camping. Thanks again.
__________________
Dutchmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 01:54 PM   #6
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutchmen View Post
Thanks for the input. I thought it would not bur wanted to check. No specific need for outlets. Was just wondering for general use. I see myself eventually getting a simple quiet generator for dry camping. Thanks again.
Here is a good article by Mark Polk that explains the different electrical systems in layman terms, that you can read at your leisure.

Basic RV Electricity - RV Information (RV Maintenance)
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 02:00 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 163
What I did on my 24HFS is I used the light circuits (pre-switch) and installed a couple 12v plugs in areas where I would want A/C power. Then I just use small inverters. I have one in my A/V cabinet, and one in the bedroom (bedroom TV). The lights are all LED and as far as I could tell, and there was nothing else on those 15 amp circuits.. so it was safe to add the 12v outlets. I also tested the circuits with everything powered up and drawing as much power as possible to check my amperage draw and I didn't even go above 10 amps. I can't promise that your trailer would be the same, but that was my quick and 'dirty' solution.
__________________
klarowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 02:19 PM   #8
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,295
Another example of a poor PDI by the dealer!
This is a basic thing that every PDI should explain to new owners.
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 08:47 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 20
Install an inverter, in the process of doing that now. its mounted and attached to that batteries. Just have to run the wire. When done we will be able to run everything but the microwave and the AC without a shore line or having to run the generator.
__________________
Pursell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 08:56 AM   #10
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,732
We dry camp a couple times a year.
We do like to watch a little TV on occasion so I use a little cigarette socket
inverter to power the TV.
My current winegard antenna outlet came with the socket so it's easy for me.
Some have the 12v socket and some don't but adding one isn't that hard.
In a previous trailer I removed the DVD/radio and tapped into the 12v wire
and added a socket nearby. We used it 5 years and never blew a fuse.

Get a stove top percolator for coffee and we actually have an old school
gas stove top toaster. It folds flat and can still be found in the camping isles of some sporting goods stores.

AC is over rated!! Our dry camping is usually done in the Fall when it's cool
so we do fine camping off the grid!

Happy Trails!
__________________

__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2004 5.3L Silverado 1500 ext. cab 2WD
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch, AirLift load levelers

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41,
2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 PM.