Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-18-2016, 03:06 PM   #1

2014 Toyota Sienna with 2014 Flagstaff MAC 228BH

I have to be honest I am totally newbie on trailers. I have no experience at all on towing a trailer or anything.

We just bought a 2014 Flagstaff MAC 228BH two days ago and would like to tow with my current minivan 2014 Toyota Sienna. The 228BH has dry weight of 2240 lbs and Sienna is rated for 3500 lbs towing capacity. I have not tried towing the trailer yet as I need to get the Sienna added with receiver, wiring and brake control done first.

The dealer seems confident my Sienna should be about to towing this trailer well. but after checking some resource online, it seems like the number is just one thing, there are still lots stuffs to consider like road conditions, wind condition, passage weight, gear weight... the more I read the more worry I am having.

Let me lay some facts on where I am and how we are planning for camping. I am living in Calgary AB of Canada where lots of mountain around. There will be mostly 5 persons out for camping (2 adults and 3 young kids 1-6 years old), we will mostly bring one adult bike and two kids bikes and food, drink and other normal camping stuff. mostly likely continuously driving 2-4 hours before having a break.

I am wondering if anyone could advise or have any experience on owing a TT with a minivan. if there is anything I can do to make the towing a little less worry and easier.

thanks in advance, appreciate for your advise.

Andy

---
2014 Toyota Sienna
2014 Flagstaff MAC 228BH
ayangch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2016, 04:21 PM   #2

The tongue weight on a 228BH is high from the factory, and if you add an extra tank or batteries it can climb fast. My 228BH has a tongue weight of over 500 lbs due to two deep cycle series 27 batteries, two filled propane tank.