Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2015, 12:10 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Air conditioner??

If I have my pop up plugged into my house using a 12 gauge extension cord is it ok to run my ac unit ?
__________________

__________________
John clements is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2015, 12:39 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Scubanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 301
Likely PPP your breaker unless your on a 30 amp circuit


2012 F150 FX4 Crew 5.0
2012 Coachman Freedom Express 292BHDS (outdoor Kitchen)
__________________

__________________
Scubanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2015, 12:44 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Crawfordville, Florida
Posts: 588
First of all welcome. You must look at the outlet and breaker to see what amp it is. Next is their other items plugged into the same breaker. I have a 20 amp and can run my ac as long as nothing else is on the same circuit . You might look to see your ac size and amps usage. Hope it makes sense.
__________________
Jerry. Vietnam vet.
Retired
jgahlhoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2015, 01:29 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Scubanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 301
Air conditioner??

Good point about the AC size. I just naturally assumed that it was at least a 13,500 btu. I have had two trailers with the 13,500 and have had no luck running them well on either a 15 or 20 amp circuit. Even with no other load on them on a dedicated circuit they still would trip. I even tried a hard start capacitor to help.


2012 F150 FX4 Crew 5.0
2012 Coachman Freedom Express 292BHDS (outdoor Kitchen)
__________________
Scubanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 09:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 80
I can run mine on the 20 amp in the garage. 13.5K unit. Give it a shot. I will admit I only did it once to test it, and made sure nothing else was on the same circuit at the time..
__________________
'14 Rockwood 2318G
'03 Ford Explorer
gruss01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 10:47 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Graceville ,Fl.
Posts: 46
Be careful using the 12 Ga cord, you could end up with a voltage drop and cause the compressor to overheat. You did not state how long the cord it, (the longer it is the more voltage drop)
__________________
2002 Rockwood Freedom 2318G
2004 Ford F 150 5.4 liter
3 Chihuahuas Sammy, Delilah,Gypsy
nineoaks2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 01:02 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 64
I used the dogbone and plugged into a 20 amp outlet on the side of my garage, my coleman mach 8 fired up and cooled the unit down with no issues.
just make sure the outlet is the only one on that breker, I have seen some where the garage door opener and the wall outlets are the same circuit and it becomes an issue when running the door up or down and having the AC on.
other than that you should be good to go.

my unit is a 2016 and has all LED lights on it, and i had the fridge off, and knew the battery was fully charged before doing this.
__________________
swimmarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 01:24 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
jeff64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: N. Illinois
Posts: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by swimmarz View Post
I used the dogbone and plugged into a 20 amp outlet on the side of my garage, my coleman mach 8 fired up and cooled the unit down with no issues.
just make sure the outlet is the only one on that breker, I have seen some where the garage door opener and the wall outlets are the same circuit and it becomes an issue when running the door up or down and having the AC on.
other than that you should be good to go.

my unit is a 2016 and has all LED lights on it, and i had the fridge off, and knew the battery was fully charged before doing this.
A lot of this depends on how long your 12 ga extension is. The dogbone I've seen are 30A to 15A. which could be an issue, even if you are on a 20A or better circuit. That dogbone @15A is 14 ga. wire. If, after 10 minutes of running, run your hand along the cord to the dog bone and either side of it. Can you feel a temperature difference in the cable? If so,... This is also a really good indicator when at the CG power post to your TT power cord as well. I've seen circuit breakers at the CGs that should have been replaced and won't deliver 30A or 120 vac plus. Especially the case in this hot weather when everybody wants to fire up the AC you'll be lucky to have 110 vac available to you
__________________
2016 Flagstaff 27VRL Emerald
14K Equalizer
2014 GMC 2500HD CC 4X4 6.0L
jeff64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 01:32 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 64
when i said i used the dog bone, I intended to write or include that i used the RV cord to a dog bone, no extension cord was needed.
you are correct about heat build up.
I know the outlet is a 20 amp as i ran the wires to it and changed the breaker in the box, now that i have the RV, ill change it to a 30 amp and change the plug to take the 30 amp RV connector, no dog bone required.
__________________
swimmarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 01:46 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 833
with a popup Im assuming a 9000btu. prolly good for 50 feet with a 12ga and minimal additional loads
__________________

__________________
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 AM.