Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2015, 09:51 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 25
Always something ... Interior Ceiling lights stopped working

I had the lift switch fail in the down direction. I figured it out by checking the volts at the switch and noticed that there wasn't any volts getting past it. So I ordered one that matched exactly as the OEM (DPDT, 20AMPS@125v, 10A@277V, rated for 1.5HP motor). $12 from amazon and other couple bucks for the weather proof jacket for the lever. I just replaced it on this last weekend's camping trip. Not only does the lift go down, but it also goes up faster. Maybe it had some resistance within the switch itself.

But now the interior roof lights are not working. First I checked the master switch at the entrance corner. Not getting any volts there. I also checked the fuse-converter panel and the fuse for that circuit was good. However, I wasn't getting any volts from the hot side of the fuse. So, I guess the fuse-panel itself is bad?

The two floor lights work, so I guess their on another circuit? The panel is loosely documented to what goes where. Is it common for these panel-converters to have bad legs/feeds?

FYI - I replaced the switch "after" noticing the interior lights not working. So, not relating but electrical gremlins are alive and well ...
__________________

__________________
2013 Forest River Rockwood Highwall 296
1991 Chevrolet Suburban V2500

gpwooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 08:07 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
f5moab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 2,058
The WFCO converters that come with popups are not noted as being one of the best out there.
I know when mine goes, I will probably replace it with a Progressive Dynamic Power Center.
__________________

__________________
Trailer: Lifted 228BH, heavy duty springs and Yokohama tires DELAMINATED ROOF
TV: 2016 GMC Sierra Z71 4x4 CC, SLT
Spare TV: Two Alaskan Malamutes

Living somewhere in ID; previously lived in Moab UT; previous to that, don't ask!
f5moab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 09:11 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by f5moab View Post
The WFCO converters that come with popups are not noted as being one of the best out there.
I know when mine goes, I will probably replace it with a Progressive Dynamic Power Center.
Yeah, that Mighty Mini looks decent. I may just pay the $50 deductible for the service charge and see if it can just be replaced under my service contract, assuming that is the problem. I can't see how it can't be in this case. Luckily the floor lights worked and we had a couple flashlights. Made for an interesting night with the kiddos.
__________________
2013 Forest River Rockwood Highwall 296
1991 Chevrolet Suburban V2500

gpwooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 10:38 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Graceville ,Fl.
Posts: 46
Check the switch, usually buy the sink /stove fold down, it shuts the lights off when the sink cabinet is folded and shuts the lights off so they will not burn the canvass if they are hot.
__________________
2002 Rockwood Freedom 2318G
2004 Ford F 150 5.4 liter
3 Chihuahuas Sammy, Delilah,Gypsy
nineoaks2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 08:38 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by nineoaks2004 View Post
Check the switch, usually buy the sink /stove fold down, it shuts the lights off when the sink cabinet is folded and shuts the lights off so they will not burn the canvass if they are hot.
I appreciate the reply, but this is on a highwall model - so the sink cabinet doesn't fold, it's stationary. However, there is a light-switch for ceiling lights - its the one pictured below with the red arrow. That was the first place I checked too, thinking it was a bad switch (since I have been dealing with a bad switch with the lift). I also checked the hot side of the circuit at the panel and not getting anything there as well, so I am thinking that the circuit itself is bad?

Also pictured is a green arrow, which is the floor lights switch. That works just fine, so that must be on another circuit. The documentation surrounding this is pretty much non-existant so I guess I will just pay the service claim and get it looked at and see if the panel can be covered.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dont_copy.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	93.8 KB
ID:	88725  
__________________
2013 Forest River Rockwood Highwall 296
1991 Chevrolet Suburban V2500

gpwooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 08:53 AM   #6
clr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sherman Illinois
Posts: 661
If you checked the circuit and have no power at the panel then I would start looking at the panel. You may have popped the circuit breaker for that circuit. Try turning off all the circuit breaker to reset them and then try turning them all back on.
__________________
clr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 08:59 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by clr View Post
If you checked the circuit and have no power at the panel then I would start looking at the panel. You may have popped the circuit breaker for that circuit. Try turning off all the circuit breaker to reset them and then try turning them all back on.
Yeah, already flipped the 30-AMP master and the 15/20AMP subs to no prevail. I am wondering if I should just wire in a Progressive Dynamic panel and just call it done. Just curious if these cheaper WFCO panels were known for this type of issue. I am sure the repair place will just put in the cheapest unit that they will find.
__________________
2013 Forest River Rockwood Highwall 296
1991 Chevrolet Suburban V2500

gpwooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 01:41 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
BobHanke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 270
Check your 12V fuses in the main panel. One could be blown or the connection might be corroded.
__________________
BobHanke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 03:01 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Missouri and Texas
Posts: 15
Send a message via Yahoo to Magee
Could there be a tripped GFI somewhere? My RV (totally different) has two, one near the cook stove and one in the bathroom.
__________________
Magee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 03:20 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
BobHanke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 270
Sorry, GFI's are normally only on lines with outlets....not lights. However, it is always possible that someone might have added some "home touches".
__________________

__________________
BobHanke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.