Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2013, 12:48 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Renosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Can you add an A/C unit to a pop up.

I have a 2012 Flagstaff 625d without an ac unit. My wife saw a pop up with an air conditioner on the roof and asked if we could could have one. I have no idea so I'm curious if this is an option.
__________________

__________________
Renosky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 03:29 AM   #2
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,295
if it was an option for your popup, it should be setup to add one.
__________________

__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:04 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Fraser, Michigan
Posts: 181
We added an A/C to our 2000 Coleman PUP. We took it to the dealer, probably paid more but felt comfortable that they would do it correctly.
__________________


Jim & Kathy
Bailey, waiting at the Rainbow Bridge
Gracie, a rescued Beagle
2007 Chevy Tahoe
2008 FR Surveyor 233T
JimChow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 11:06 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
AC

Hi
Check the roof inside and see if you can see the outline of a rectangular frame somewhere near the middle of the roof.It might show if you look at the roof from one side to the other with your head close to the ceiling. I have a Rockwood Premier with the frame in the central area of the roof.Some are marked with a small screw that doesn't appear to be doing anything. It is advisable to ask the manufacturer or your dealer first. Make sure your lift system is in good shape as the AC does add a bit of weight.
Check to see if your favorite spots have capacity for an AC unit. If you are going to be using a generator to run it the conversations about that are quite long.

If the roof vent is in the middle then have a look at the corners. Without the reinforced frame in the roof it is not advisable to put one in.

Good Luck
__________________
Rob_looking_at_ROO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 12:03 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Yes, you can. I just bought a 2014 Rockwood 1950 and has a Dometic A/C installed.
__________________
Way pup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.