Old 07-04-2014, 09:52 AM   #1

Correct Tire Pressure for HW277

Hello everyone,

I am new to the camper/pop up world. I have been lurking around here soaking up as much information as possible. I have one question that I could use some assistance. What is the correct tire inflation pressure for my unit? I assume trailer tires are similar to cars and the pressure listed on the tire is the max cold inflation pressure... But I do not see anywhere in my Forest River papers a suggested tire pressure with partial or full load. I have also seen many threads about "China bomb" tires but they seem to follow a pattern of RVs and larger/heavier trailers. Are the pop ups susceptible to the same tire issues? Thanks for taking the time to read this.

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums

Old 07-04-2014, 11:33 AM   #2

Fill to max cold and call it good. There is no benefit that I know of to running less on a trailer.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Forest River Forums mobile app

Old 07-04-2014, 04:35 PM   #3
Moderators' Assistant

trailer usually have a sticker or plate on the side, with tire pressure recommendations.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 11:32 PM   #4

Is there a typical spot this is applied on the trailer? Similar to cars having one on the driver side door?

Old 07-05-2014, 03:44 AM   #5
Incheon, S. Korea

Look on the side of your tires. If they are factory ST tires, they should be filled to max P.S.I. cold.
If you upgrade your tires with ones that have a higher load rating (C vs. D or D vs E), you have to determine how much weight is on the tires and use the appropriate p.s.i. from a load chart.
Also note that ST tires have a speed limit of 65 m.p.h. They will overheat and may fail if you drive at higher speeds for an extended period of time, especially on hot days.