Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2015, 12:26 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 11
Dealer only installed one propane tank

Hi everyone. I'm new to the forum and have a question. We just picked up our new 1910 today and the dealer only installed one propane tank but gave us the other and filled it up. We assumed it was a spare but now I'm thinking it is supposed to be mounted with the other one. What do i need to mount it??
__________________

__________________
next1051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 08:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
GalsofEscape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Catonsville Maryland
Posts: 987
Sounds strange. There would be an obvious empty spot next to the currently installed tank if you are set up for dual tanks. Mine are right next to each other and the regulator has a connection for both tanks.
__________________

__________________
HTT: "EscapeII" 2016 Shamrock 23WS (current)
PUP: "Escape" 2010 Rockwood HW 277 (gone)
TV: "Bruce" 2011 Dodge Durango V8 Hemi Crew
Just us gals (me, Sis and our daughters)
We spend alot of money to go sit in the woods
GalsofEscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 08:49 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
f5moab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 2,058
You would have a large oblong bracket so the tanks can sit next to each other, and then a clamp that goes between the tanks to secure them. Then two hoses, usually connected through a valve to switch from tank to tank, then to one hose to the trailer.


Not the setup on my trailer, just a photo from Google....

On mine you can see the silver valve that switches tanks automatically, and just below that is the regulator....
__________________
Trailer: Lifted 228BH, heavy duty springs and Yokohama tires DELAMINATED ROOF
TV: 2016 GMC Sierra Z71 4x4 CC, SLT
Spare TV: Two Alaskan Malamutes

Living somewhere in ID; previously lived in Moab UT; previous to that, don't ask!
f5moab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 12:30 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 11
Thanks for info. I'm trying to decide if i want to take it back to the dealer that is two hours away and have them do it,or just buy what i need and do it myself.
__________________
next1051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 04:19 PM   #5
2016 Shamrock 183 Hybrid
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Solar Unfriendy Mid Michigan
Posts: 64
If this helps you decide ..... Only two kinds of projects known to me.....

1. Those that I think are gonna be long and hard.... and I am right!

2. Those that I think are gonna go quick and easy.... and I am wrong!!
__________________
sparty047 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 05:11 PM   #6
Canadian Member
 
itat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Eastern GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,899
According to the FR website, 2 LP bottles is not a standard feature on your 1910. The only negative is that you won't have the auto switchover feature but I wouldn't be too concerned unless you're going to be camping for an extended period and need the furnace running. It'll be the biggest consumer of propane. Just keep an eye on the weight of the bottle that's in use and switch to the other bottle if it's getting light.

We did that for years with our 1999 Coleman Santa Fe popup.
__________________
2011 Rockwood Signature Ultra Lite 8293SS, 12K Equal-i-zer WDH
2016 Ford F-250 XLT SuperCrew, 6.2L, 4x4, 6'9" bed, 3.73, w/ snow plow & camper pkgs.
2010 Rockwood Roo 23SS (2012 - 2014)
2009 Ford F-150 XLT SuperCrew, 5.4L, 5'6" bed (2012 - 2016)

itat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 09:30 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 11
The only thing i was worried about was the furnace. Our old pop up didn't have one. I think we'll be fine. I'll have to keep an eye on our usage. Thanks for all the info!!!!
__________________
next1051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 03:08 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
f5moab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 2,058
I'll add that I have camped for quite a few days in some rather cold night weather, and ran the furnace quite a bit and have never used a full tank of propane at one time. It's electricity that the furnace uses that can be the problem. At least in my experiences.
__________________
Trailer: Lifted 228BH, heavy duty springs and Yokohama tires DELAMINATED ROOF
TV: 2016 GMC Sierra Z71 4x4 CC, SLT
Spare TV: Two Alaskan Malamutes

Living somewhere in ID; previously lived in Moab UT; previous to that, don't ask!
f5moab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 03:27 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
rsdata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 1,547
consider not just the cost of an additional tank, but also the T-fitting and additional tank hose, plus the auto tank switch feature device and the clamp and lower plate in the cost of the conversion that you may not need. I would buy a second tank if you think you need it and just carry it in your TV so that you can sub it for a low tank if you need it.
__________________


2014 Shamrock 183
2014 RAM 1500 Bighorn Crew Cab, HEMI, 3.21 gears, 8 Spd, 4X4
rsdata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 03:41 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
bpa098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Westmoreland
Posts: 310
I barely go through one tank each summer. We get in around 30 days total. Rarely use the furnace. I do use my gas grill a lot though.
__________________

__________________
bpa098 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dealer, led, propane, tank

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 AM.