Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2015, 12:09 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 782
Fridge question

I powered the main in and turned the fridge on. It cooled over night and I loaded it now I unplug the AC power to connect the pup to the TV. When I get to the cg and plug back into AC the fridge says powers on in AC mode but the check light I'd on. Does anyone know if the fridge switches to DC then back to AC? My TV dies have a power to charge the battery.
__________________

__________________
kinma13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 12:12 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Was switch on auto?
If so was propane tanks turned off?
Is this a 2 or 3 way fridge?
Do u have battery disconnect? Was it off?
Need more info here



TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "9 nights"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 12:16 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
deartruc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Southern New England
Posts: 818
Most likely tried switching over to gas but the lines weren't purged so the flame never lit. That's why the fault light was on.
__________________
2008 Dodge Durango
2015 Roo 23 ikss
deartruc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 12:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 782
Ty turbs. Yeah I just read the other fridge problem and read the manual. I only drive about 3 hrs so the fridge is just off for that time. I don't trust the propane while moving. Maybe I'll have to crawl in the pup and manually switch it to DC on long trips. Ty
__________________
kinma13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 12:29 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 782
Turbs is a 3 way, no propane is off, auto I'd on yes battery is connected. I though it would check for AC, then propane then if no AC or PROPANE it would go to DC but guess not.
__________________
kinma13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 02:28 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
f5moab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 2,058
I have a 3-way, and have no Auto switch. Do the new ones come with an auto mode?

As for DC, if possible, can you plug into AC a day prior to leaving? If so, plug in and turn on the AC mode, then day of travel, turn off AC and turn on DC for the trip. My experience is propane is the best to cool, AC is next and DC is terrible to cool. But I usually cool down the fridge the day before on AC, then travel on DC. DC seems to do a decent job of keeping it cool.
__________________
Trailer: Lifted 228BH, heavy duty springs and Yokohama tires DELAMINATED ROOF
TV: 2016 GMC Sierra Z71 4x4 CC, SLT
Spare TV: Two Alaskan Malamutes

Living somewhere in ID; previously lived in Moab UT; previous to that, don't ask!
f5moab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 07:28 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
GalsofEscape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Catonsville Maryland
Posts: 988
Hi kinma,
I usually turn off the auto and then manually switch to dc. For me the auto switch seems to flip the fridge between ac and propane, but never seems to seek dc, so I don't even try anymore.
__________________
HTT: "EscapeII" 2016 Shamrock 23WS (current)
PUP: "Escape" 2010 Rockwood HW 277 (gone)
TV: "Bruce" 2011 Dodge Durango V8 Hemi Crew
Just us gals (me, Sis and our daughters)
We spend alot of money to go sit in the woods
GalsofEscape is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 11:55 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 782
My problem is you can't turn the DC on after the pup is closed. We close it about 3 hrs b4 going today so that would be a long time on DC
__________________
kinma13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2015, 07:25 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
GalsofEscape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Catonsville Maryland
Posts: 988
Yes, with your model that would be an issue. Access to the fridge when closed up was one of the deciding factors when we were pup shopping. Even without the switching issue, I like being able to load up the fridge without having to open the pup. Or even to check the fridge when we make stops. Since you are hooked up to shore power to cool the fridge down, why not switch to DC as you close up and leave the shore power hooked up until just before you pull out. The fridge should stay on through the converter. Then when you hook up to tow, disconnect the shore power and the fridge will then stay on battery for the tow.
__________________
HTT: "EscapeII" 2016 Shamrock 23WS (current)
PUP: "Escape" 2010 Rockwood HW 277 (gone)
TV: "Bruce" 2011 Dodge Durango V8 Hemi Crew
Just us gals (me, Sis and our daughters)
We spend alot of money to go sit in the woods
GalsofEscape is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2015, 07:54 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 782
I'll try that when on the way home. Thank you. I thought if a put it on DC the plugged in it would auto switch again. Maybe I'll mess with it today
__________________

__________________
kinma13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.