Old 06-24-2012, 09:52 PM   #1
Insulation ideas

Hi all! I am fairly new at all this. We just bought our pop up a few weeks back. We took the kids, 4 of the 5, up camping for the weekend. The only complaint they had was that it was cold. We ran the heater, in fact it ran almost all night both nights. My question is... Is there any way to keep the warmth in. We double checked to make sure everything was in the correct place and nothing was left undone. I am thinking of maybe some material to go along the pull outs, all 3 of them. Does anyone have any other ideas? Would a think layer of insulation work on the two pull out sides? Rambling I know. Any ideas or suggestions would be great.

Rachel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:57 PM   #2
Sadly, that is one of the problems with tent trailers or hybrids. They simply do not have any insulation. I really do not see from looking at them that there is a way to easily add insulation, except maybe add some heavy blankets to the ends. But that would only keep heat inside the box and the beds would get colder yet. Maybe best would be some better sleeping bags.

donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 10:00 PM   #3
I don't have any yet (thinking about buying some though), but folks have good things to say about PopupGizmos. They are best known for keeping the heat out of the camper in the summer by reflecting the sun rather than letting it heat up the bunk ends. Their web site says that they help keep things warm in the winter though. PopupGizmos

I'm in Texas and more interested in the "keeping heat out" aspect of them.

Our Roo came with heated mattresses.... Maybe pack an electric blanket to help if you have electric hookup?

jas0420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 10:02 PM   #4