Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-06-2013, 08:37 PM   #1

Just a few questions about the Rockwood HW296

So as I'm new to pop-up camping I had a few questions about them. In particular the Rockwood HW296. I was curious how and where is the usable storage in this unit? Also curious about the 4 bike rack, It is mentioned as a option on the website, does anyone have it and is it decent? Also what about things like firewood, chairs, etc. As a tent camper I'm used to packing these in my vehicle and firewood usually on one of those tow hitch cargo racks. I like to take some wood with me as I have access to it for free. Is there room for it or do I need one of those safari racks on my tow vehicle. Also how essential is a cover if I plan on storing it outside. (no snow where I live, only hot summers and rain) Any other tips, essentials, or pet peeves I should know about would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old 08-07-2013, 08:51 AM   #2

I can't speak for the bike rack, as we don't have one, but as for storage, it is minimal. There are small storage areas under the sofa, under the microwave, and under the dinette. All of these are accessible from the outside as well as inside. I would not recommend them for firewood since they do have inside access and you will introduce dirt and creeping crawlies into the camper. Larger items like chairs, etc. we just lay in the floor inside the door. Note the "sofa table", as shown on the floorplan, is simply a small table with folding legs and is not permanently attached, so it is not in the way of using that area for storage while traveling. Since we tow with a pick-up, that solves a lot of the cargo issues.

Bob
2013 Rockwood HW296
w4drr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 03:41 PM   #3