Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2014, 06:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 45
Keeps blowing fuses...

Brought our camper home and now I can't keep fuses in it on one circuit. The camper is a 2014 HW31SCTH. The fuse is a 15 amp that runs the two outside lights, the radio, the water heater, furnace and gas detector. I can replace the fuse and run everything on that circuit just fine for a couple hours...Then all of the sudden it pops. Any idea where I look first?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
IonicBrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 12:16 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 75
First you need to know if that is the proper size fuse for the circuit You also need to see the voltage output of your battery if your battery is low it will take much more current to run your furnace. then you need to see that all items are off, then operate only one item at a time to see if it is a specifique item that is causing the problem or when you use multiple items at a time. I Would suspect the furnance is the problem do to the fact it has an electric motor for the blower which usualy draws a lot of current on start-up.
__________________

__________________
bleurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 12:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 45
The fuse is (was) the original one from the factory, and is labeled 15 amp on the panel. The fuse blows whether on battery power or the converter, and both have been checked for proper voltage. The furnace has a separate fusable link that is a 7.5amp fuse. That fuse has not blown. The only things on when it blows are the detector and the radio. I'm going to disconnect everything, make sure the fuse doesn't blow with nothing on it (if it does I have a converter problem right?) then add things one by one and give it a few days in between to make sure each item doesn't blow it.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
IonicBrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 12:32 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Have you checked amp draw on that circuit?
I would check that first.
You can always turn one item on at a time to find the highest draw.

If you don't have a multi meter that you leave in the camper then now is the time to get one........
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 12:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 45
I'm in construction and have several meters (one I keep in my TV), but I'm not that familiar with DC...How do I check the draw on just that fuse?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
IonicBrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 12:36 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by IonicBrick View Post
I'm in construction and have several meters (one I keep in my TV), but I'm not that familiar with DC...How do I check the draw on just that fuse?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
Dc amp clamp on the hot wire on either side of fuse
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 12:50 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 45
That's kinda what I figured. None of my meters are clamps. I'll have to get one. Thanks.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
IonicBrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 08:28 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 45
Well, I got an automotive circuit tester today. You plug a fuse into it and plug it into the circuit and it tells you the amperage draw on that particular circuit.
Long story short, I had everything turned off or disconnected on that circuit and the tester said it was still drawing between 18 and 22 amps! That was battery connected, disconnected, whatever. Same readings every time. I tried the tester in another circuit to be sure it worked, and it does. Put a 15 amp fuse back in that first circuit and it still popped em.

When I had the tester up and it was at 22 amps, I had to have a 30 amp fuse in it to keep it from blowing right away. I only 'tested' for a few seconds so as not to heat up wiring or connections. However, when that circuit was on the converter was making a strange groaning noise. And this time I was never able to get it to run at all, it just popped fuses as soon as I turned it on.

So do I have a bad converter? Do you think I should take things a step further and disconnect the wire to that circuit behind the converter? That would mean taking the box apart, but if that's the only way to get warranty replacement I can certainly do that...remember that this is a 2014 so it is indeed under warranty...


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
IonicBrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 08:32 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 75
Some multimeter have 20amp meter you just need to place the meter in the write setting and use the probes in the place of the fuse the red lead on power side and the black on the load side veyfie first that the meter is fused an your lead are in the write position.Click image for larger version

Name:	multimeter.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	58.5 KB
ID:	57759
__________________
bleurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 08:36 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 45
Yeah, 2 of my meters are 10 amp DC and my work one is 20...but it just read "----" when I hooked it up. It was probably seeing 22 amps as well.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
IonicBrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuse

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 AM.