Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2012, 10:42 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 11
My Lift Cable broke, 6 days till camping!

Today I went to put up my 2003 flagstaff and my main lift cable snapped, the camper top came crashing down from about 4 feet.

I have a camping trip planned for friday so I need this fixed fast. I have already purchased 20' of 3/16 stainless steel cable.

Can anyone help with how to go about replacing this cable? I did read somewhere I need to raise up the roof before I can do it. Is this true.

Again, any help anyone can give would be great.

Thanks.

-Matthew
__________________

__________________
MatthewJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 12:38 AM   #2
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,306
you should contact the lift's manufacturer, if there's no paperwork on it, in the owner's manual.
__________________

__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 08:03 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 752
Make sure that you grease your push springs in the tubes every season to eliminate some stress on the lifting system.
__________________
capucine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 08:24 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
BlakeB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 404
Here's a write up on one that may be very similar to yours...

RVGene.com - Forest River Flagstaff and Shamrock
__________________
TT = 2014 Palomino Solaire Eclipse 318TSBHK
TV = 2014 Ram 2500 Big Horn 6.4L V8
Pit Crew: DW (Robin)
Kids: 3yo DD (Riley), another DD cookin (Kennedy)
Security: 5yo Boxer (Sasha), 14yo yorkie (Porter)...he was married in
BlakeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 06:24 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Hey Matthew - This just happened to ours today. What did you end up doing?
__________________
KSW8989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 06:40 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 11
Hi, Blake gave this link. RVGene.com - Forest River Flagstaff and Shamrock

It worked fine, all you need is 20' of aircraft cable and some ends for it.

Follow the link above to get your cable out and then make a new cable just like it as if it didn't break.

Then put it back in, I have a wench with mine, so I had to adjust the auto stop bolts in it.

I'm no mechanic, computer guy actually, and it only took me 6 hours and 3 trips to the hard ware store.

Not that difficult, but took a while.

You can also go to the dealer, it casts $400 there

-Matt
__________________
MatthewJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 10:40 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
I am working on a Rockwood Freedome pop up camper with broken cable. I was told to have roof in the down postion. Is this right ? Or should it be raised when putting new cable thru? Acually I have new cable in already but I installed it with the roof down and the roof does not want to go up in the front. Only the back part of roof starts to lift.
__________________
Northwoods Camping Supply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 11:11 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 11
You may need to adjust the pulley in the rear of the camper if one end starts to lift first. If the end doesn't lift at all you might be missing the clamp on the cable that lifts the end.

Did you buy or make this cable ?
__________________
MatthewJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 11:16 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
I bought the cable at the store where I work and we put the new stoppers and stuff on where they should be. We even measured to make sure the stoppers were in the right place. Yeah the back starts to raise and the front goes down as the back goes up. Should the roof be up when putting a new cable in> Because I had it in the down postion like I read someplace online. Thanks
__________________
Northwoods Camping Supply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 11:22 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 11
It has to be down when installing.

Sounds like the cable is in wrong. What instructions did you follow.
__________________

__________________
MatthewJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 PM.