Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-06-2013, 07:34 AM   #1

NC Campgrounds

I am new to the pop up/camper world. I am looking for suggestions of great NC campgrounds. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.
lbatc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 09:30 PM   #2

Hey there....all depends on where you want to go and what your style of camping is. Also are you camping with kids? Some folks want to be quite secluded and lots of privacy while other prefer more amenities.

If your destination is the Triangle (Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill area) Jordan lake is great. My favorite Jordan Lake campground is Crosswinds Campground, Loop B, by the lake.

Further East near Fayetteville / Lumberton, the family and I have stayed at Jones Lake campground. It's small but very charming. The Lake is actually one of thousands of "Carolina Bays" (unknown phenomenon as to how they were formed). However there is only 1 site with power and water, the rest are primitive.

In the mountains (further West than Asheville), we have stayed at Cherokee KOA, the kids had a blast.

If the beach is your destination, Pirate Land (not in NC but Myrtle Beach) is a great place. This is more of an RV resort versus a campground.

Places still on my list to camp are Medoc Mountain, Stone Mountain and trying to find a place on the Outter Banks.

-Mike
kmkeefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 05:52 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmkeefe View Post
Hey there....all depends on where you want to go and what your style of camping is. Also are you camping with kids? Some folks want to be quite secluded and lots of privacy while other prefer more amenities.

If your destination is the Triangle (Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill area) Jordan lake is great. My favorite Jordan Lake campground is Crosswinds Campground, Loop B, by the lake.