Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-19-2017, 12:40 PM   #1

pop-up bag awning advice?

I need a new bag awning and my research found 3 manufacturers: A&E Dometic, Carefree, and Shademaker.

The Carefree seem really expensive.
Shademaker legs only seem to attach to their own brackets on the frame and only if you get the SupremeXL version.
Dometic legs only rest on the ground? All the pictures show them on the ground. I'm new to PUPs and it looks like there are black brackets on the side of the camper so I'm wondering if the legs can attach to those brackets (black with a round hole).

What do you recommend and where should I purchase your recommendation? I don't necessarily want the cheapest, I want the sturdiest, best value.
Old 04-19-2017, 02:43 PM   #2

I have the shademaker and have been very pleased with it. It can attach to the unit or stand on the ground. I prefer to attach to the camper, little more wind resistant. The frame seems better built and has square legs which are very easy to adjust. It costs a little more, but I feel that it was worth it. Used it for 3 trips of 1-2 months each and open each time we set up.
cabranch47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 07:29 PM   #3

the dometic awning will do both, legs to ground and legs to camper. we usually had it legs to ground as it was easier for us to tie it down. whenever we had it legs to camper we seemed to have an issue with the wind flipping the awning up on the roof.
Just us gals (me, Sis and our daughters)
We spend alot of money to go sit in the woods
GalsofEscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 09:27 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by PUPJake View Post
I need a new bag awning and my research found 3 manufacturers: A&E Dometic, Carefree, and Shademaker.

The Carefree seem really expensive.