Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2015, 10:34 AM   #11
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Just my two cents but why pay for a service when you can use Pandora on a smart phone?
We used to have xm but ditched it when we got smart phones.
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 10:37 AM   #12
Ret E-9 Anchor-clanker
 
donanddona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Genoa, ILL
Posts: 1,423
Are you using a smart phone? So many apps available for what your talking about. Our family uses XM on tablets, laptops, phone, even the ole desk top computers.
__________________

__________________
Don & Dona W/yorkies Gizmo, Master Chief, & Tali
2011 Flagstaff 8528 BHSS 2015 Ford 6.7 XLT
2010 Full Timers & Still Going
donanddona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 10:51 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
f5moab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 2,058
Don't you need cell phone service or data coverage for Pandora? And where I camp, you need to drive miles for either.
__________________
Trailer: Lifted 228BH, heavy duty springs and Yokohama tires DELAMINATED ROOF
TV: 2016 GMC Sierra Z71 4x4 CC, SLT
Spare TV: Two Alaskan Malamutes

Living somewhere in ID; previously lived in Moab UT; previous to that, don't ask!
f5moab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 10:54 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 782
F5moab. My truck is siruis so that's what I'm looking at for the service. Just called them and I need a plan for every radio. Which sucks.
__________________
kinma13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 11:15 AM   #15
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Yes service and a data plan are required.
But your paying for it anyway.
If you have no service then true you'd need a sat radio.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 11:48 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
f5moab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 2,058
I'll keep the XM in the truck going; I know, probably wasting my money, but heck, it's only money.
As for camping....where I usually camp, there is no data service; once in while I might be in a place with very limited cell service. That's why I camp and hike with a PLB. Just in case...
__________________
Trailer: Lifted 228BH, heavy duty springs and Yokohama tires DELAMINATED ROOF
TV: 2016 GMC Sierra Z71 4x4 CC, SLT
Spare TV: Two Alaskan Malamutes

Living somewhere in ID; previously lived in Moab UT; previous to that, don't ask!
f5moab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 03:21 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Batts-toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ripon, California
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinma13 View Post
F5moab. My truck is siruis so that's what I'm looking at for the service. Just called them and I need a plan for every radio. Which sucks.
I have an Xm service unit in my house, I plan to go online to my account when I am ready to go camping and switch from the house unit to the MH tuner unit, just replace one with the other, after camping switch it back. You don't need a seperate plan for every radio, you add additional radios to your existing plan each added unit is only $9.95 a month I currently have 3 units not counting the MH.
__________________
Dale & Terri, Lulu & Tiki (our Chihuahua's), New rescue puppy Prince - Pom/Pug mix.
2013 Tundra, Double Cab, 5.7, TRD Off-Road, 4X4, Full Tow Package
2013 Wildwood T26TBSS - Sold
2000 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager M-8357 MH, Ford Trident V10 Gasser, 35 foot.
Batts-toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 05:00 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 782
I was thinking during camping just activate the home/pup radio and have the car set up always. They will setup the car free activate but want 15 to act the second one so I'm thinking just put in DW name so I get the free active.
__________________
kinma13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 08:25 PM   #19
Ret E-9 Anchor-clanker
 
donanddona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Genoa, ILL
Posts: 1,423
F5, You should tell us where you camp w/o cell service. So we can decide!
__________________
Don & Dona W/yorkies Gizmo, Master Chief, & Tali
2011 Flagstaff 8528 BHSS 2015 Ford 6.7 XLT
2010 Full Timers & Still Going
donanddona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 08:37 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,602
To answer the question on Sirius. I have Sirus in my Rockwood, I placed the antenna on the outside edge of the slide roof, ran the coax into the entertainment centre mounted a car kit in there and tied into 12 volts. In the heaviest of forest I still get a signal. I also get it in the truck. We can not access Pandora in Canada or many other streaming service unfortunately. Most place I camp there is no FM even so Sirius or Galaxie off Shaw Direct Sat TV is our radio.
__________________

__________________
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radio

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.