Old 02-11-2015, 02:17 PM   #1

Sub frame preventive maintenance

Kia ora (Hello) from a kiwi in NZ.
I am a newbie to these forums , this is my first post so my apologies if this is posted in the wrong place.
My wife and I have purchased a new 2015 Flagstaff 228D pup.

We spend most of our camping at the seaside and it is similar to what you call boondocking, although there are some sites we go to that have the basics like a cold shower and toilets, otherwise it is all good.

Our first trip was great, a real step up from our tent.

I am looking for advise on looking after the chassis and subframe, including the wooden floor etc.

I have been thinking about sealing the steel frame underneath with a coating of underseal which is a wax type product that does not harden, I have this on the chassis of my TV, a Mazda bounty 4x4.

I am not so sure about the wooden floor, I am a bit concerned that if I seal this from underneath it will cause a moisture problem and so I am looking for any advice on how to look after this, and if there are any products that can be applied to it to look after it.

Also the manufacturers warranty does not apply here, I am relying on the supplier here in NZ who has provided a 12 month return to base warranty.

So thanks for reading this post and thank you in advance for any advice you may have

Hankus

Old 02-11-2015, 02:21 PM   #2

Welcome to the forum.

I think you want the wood floor to breathe. So I think I you should keep it exposed.

Waxing the frame should be fine.

2015 HW296
2006 HW256 (previous pup)
2013 Chevy Tahoe
Equalizer WDH 1000#
vinmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 02:29 PM   #3

You do not want to put anything on the floor. It is made with exterior grade plywood and as long as it does not stay wet for extended time (weeks) it will last many years. I had a 15 year old pup and the wood showed no signs of damage.

Vibe 6501
1 Prospector Canoe
2 Mtn. Bikes
4 Hiking Boots
Happy Vibe is offline   Reply With Quote