Old 05-08-2014, 01:16 AM   #1

Tongue weight and batteries

Howdy All,
Newbie here needing some help. Thought I had it "all" figured out for our first pop-up tent trailer trip in our new Rockwood Premier 2516G. Joke is on me!
Given our desire to dry camp, and based on the manufacturer's dry tongue weight of 296 lbs, I had installed dual propane tanks and two deep cycle 6volt batteries (wired in series) on the tongue. But instead of being at 500 lbs the tongue weight is now 580 lbs and our 2011 Highlander is rated for 500 lbs tongue weight. Batteries weigh 65 lbs each and full propane tanks weigh 38 lbs each.
Is the best thing to trade in the two batteries for one (and if so what type of battery?), carry an extra battery in the tent trailer, and go down to one propane tank? Played with the idea of mounting the batteries on a custom made platform on the rear of the trailer but upon further reading this seems like a bad idea (vibration decreasing battery life, accident possibilities, perhaps even illegal in some states).
Sure do appreciate any help and advice you can give as we plan on leaving Tuesday.

Old 05-08-2014, 01:29 AM   #2

Is that 580 loaded ready to go?

If yes, go camping, have fun. You eliminate one battery you'll have to go with a really small battery to hit 500. One battery and one tank would do it.

But honestly? That 80 pounds isn't going to be a problem. Might make it sag an extra inch or so when hooked up.

Now, if it's 580 not fully loaded, then you need to load it and reweigh.

Nights camped in 2014-28, 2015-127, 2016-10
SKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 01:42 AM   #3